This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Monday 20 January, 2020

Ex-Leinster 10 Gopperth lands Player's Player of the Year award in England

Meanwhile, Tamara Taylor was the women’s player of the year with Lions tourist Ross Moriarty missing out on the young player gong.

Image: Billy Stickland/INPHO

KIWI OUT-HALF Jimmy Gopperth was named the Rugby Players’ Association’s Player of the Year last night.

The Wasps playmaker, who had a two-year stint at Leinster while Jonathan Sexton played for Racing Metro, took the gong ahead of England international team-mates Elliott Daly and Christian Wade as well as Saracens’ Owen Farrell and Northampton Saints’ Louis Picamoles. Though Farrell did walk away with a prize in the shape of the England Player of Year award.

Gopperth topped the Premiership scoring charts with 266 points, including nine tries and seven try assists while guiding Wasps to finish top of the table. He also played a role at inside centre, notably the Champions Cup quarter-final loss to Leinster, when coach Dai Young opted to play Danny Cipriani in the 10 channel.

Tamara Taylor Tamara Taylor in action against Italy in February. Source: Camerasport/Ashley Western/INPHO

Second row Tamara Taylor was crowned Women’s Player of the Year after helping England power to a Grand Slam win over Ireland in Dublin in March.

Zach Mercer celebrates after the game Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Lions tourist Ross Moriarty lost out in the Young Player of the Year category to 19-year-old Bath back row Zach Mercer, who also collected a title for the U20s in Donnybrook on St Patrick’s Day.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Blow for Connacht as Bundee Aki will definitely miss Champions Cup play-off semi-final

‘They’re both really exciting’ – Ringrose and Davies set to go head-to-head

Murray named players’ player of the year at Rugby Players Ireland awards

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: