This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Monday 21 October, 2019

John Brudair set to take Limerick reins as footballers boycott 2014 McGrath Cup

He managed Dromcollogher-Broadford to Munster success in 2008

John Brudair on the sidelines with Dromcollogher-Broadford.
John Brudair on the sidelines with Dromcollogher-Broadford.
Image: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

JOHN BRUDAIR WILL be ratified as manager of Limerick senior footballers at the next meeting of the County Board after receiving the backing of club delegates at last night’s Limerick Football Committee meeting in Ardee.

Brudair will replace Maurice Horan as senior football boss and, while his full backroom team hasn’t been confirmed, it will include Declan Brouder and Diarmuid Mullins as coach.

The new boss won’t, however, lead Limerick in January’s McGrath Cup competition as the Shannonsiders join Clare in protesting the seeding of Cork and Kerry in the 2014 Munster football championship.


It is expected that Tipperary and Waterford will join Clare and Limerick in their boycott later this year.

Could dressing room interviews become the norm in Irish sport?

Galway hurling final postponed in mark of respect for Niall Donoghue

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: