This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13 °C Saturday 15 August, 2020

Katie Taylor has been crowned Sportswoman of the Year

The boxer enjoyed yet another record-breaking year.

Taylor with her latest award.
Taylor with her latest award.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

KATIE TAYLOR HAS been crowned The Irish Times/Irish Sports Council ‘Sportswoman of the Year 2014′ for the fourth time after winning both the European and World Championships this year.

The Bray boxer enjoyed yet another remarkable year that saw her claim a record-breaking sixth European title in Bucharest before adding a fifth consecutive world title in South Korea last month.

Taylor was among 15 sports stars nominated for the award which she takes home for the fourth time having previously won it in 2007, 2008 and 2012.

Speaking after her win, Taylor said: “I’m honoured and delighted to be named the Irish Times/Irish Sports Council Sportswoman of the Year 2014. This has been an amazing year for me and for Irish women in sport and I would like to congratulate all the finalists in their respective fields who have excelled at major sporting events.”

The 15 nominees received their monthly awards from Minister of State Michael Ring TD. and Kevin O’Sullivan, Editor, The Irish Times.

Horse racing trainer Joanna Morgan was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award for her valued contribution to the world of racing by Tánaiste Joan Burton.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Morgan retired as a jockey in 1997 having ridden more than 200 winners and is now a widely respected trainer.

The full list of monthly winners were:

  • December: Madeline Perry
  • January: Gráinne Dwyer
  • February: Niamh Briggs
  • March: Sarah Greene
  • April: Savannah McCarthy
  • May: Sanita Puspure
  • June: Stephanie Meadow and Katie Taylor
  • July: Chloe Mustaki
  • August: Fiona Coghlan
  • September: Anna Geary and Briege Corkery
  • October: Maria McCambridge
  • November: Aileen Reid and Stephanie Roche

- Originally published 16. 30

Brendan Rodgers has hit out at those criticising Raheem Sterling

We no longer believe in Koeman’s Saints: 5 Premier League bets to consider this weekend

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next: