Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Friday 25 September 2020

Jack O'Connor sees Kerry minors get off to a flier with 15-point win over Clare

The sides clashed in tonight’s Munster minor football opener in Ennis.

Kerry minor manager Jack O'Connor.
Kerry minor manager Jack O'Connor.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Kerry 2-16
Clare 0-7

JACK O’CONNOR SAW his Kerry minor team get off to a flying start in the Electric Ireland Munster MFC tonight as they despatched Clare at Cusack Park in Ennis.

A brace of second-half goals by Dr Crokes player Jordan Kiely helped propel Kerry to a fifteen-point success while Killian Spilliane chipped in with 0-6.

Clare registered the opening score of the game through Keelan Sexton but Kerry, backboned by seven members of Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne Hogan Cup winning team, soon got into their stride.

They drew level at 0-3 apiece by the 13th minute and then got a boost when Clare captain Brian Cahill was shown a black card. Micheal Burns, Matthew Flaherty and Brian Rayle all pointed before the break as they retired with a 0-8 to 0-3 lead at the midway mark.

Kerry’s position strengthened further in the 42nd minute when Kiely found the net to push them into a 1-10 to 0-4 lead and eight minutes later he bagged his second goal to move them out of sight.

Spillane and Flaherty continued to lead the scoring charge as Kerry ran out victors by 15 points.

KERRY: Shane Ryan (Rathmore); Jack Morgan (Austin Stacks), Brian Begley (An Ghaeltacht), Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle); Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue), Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil), Brian Sugrue (Renard); Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle), Mark O’Connor (Dingle); Matthew Flaherty (Dingle), Brian Rayle (Lispole), Micheál Burns (Dr Crokes); Jordan Kiely (Dr Crokes), Killian Spillane (Templenoe), Cathal Bambury (Dingle).

CLARE: Killian Normoyle (Lissycasey); Brian Cahill (Lissycasey), Pierce Lillis (Cooraclare), James Woods (Eire Og Ennis); Conal O h-Ainifein (Eire Og Ennis), Colm Pyne (Killimer), Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora); Niall McCarthy (Lissycasey), Eoin Hanrahan (Doora-Barefield); Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry-Ibrickane), Eimhin Courtney (Eire Og), Aaron Rudd (Wolfe Tones); Conor Finnucane (Lissycasey), Micheál Duffy (Kilfenora), Aidan Davidson (St Breckan’s).

Referee: Sean Lonergan (Tipperary)

Cork fire six goals in 23-point victory against Limerick in Munster minor clash

Bergin bags a brace of goals at Tipperary see off Waterford in Munster minor football tie

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: