Dublin: 23°C Sunday 25 July 2021

Kerry make it 5 Munster minor finals in a row with comfortable victory over Clare

The Kingdom had a seven-point victory over Clare in Miltown-Malbay this evening.

Peter Keane has steered defending champions Kerry into another Munster minor football final.
Peter Keane has steered defending champions Kerry into another Munster minor football final.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Clare 1-6
Kerry 1-13

KERRY MAY BE under different management this year but they’ve made it through to a fifth successive Electric Ireland Munster minor football championship final.

The Kingdom, who won back-to-back All-Ireland titles under Jack O’Connor in 2014 and 2015, are on the march again under the guidance of Peter Keane.

Brian Friel’s early goal set Kerry on their way to victory in Miltown-Malbay this evening – and they’ll now meet Limerick or Cork in the final on July 3.

An attendance of 808 people saw Clare give it a decent shot against their opponents from across the Shannon estuary but ultimately Kerry were too slick and found it easier to create and take scores across the hour.

Kerry led 1-7 to 1-3 at half-time and at one stage the reigning Munster and All-Ireland champions were six points up.

They led 1-5 to 0-1 after 16 minutes, largely thanks to a soft fourth minute goal from corner forward Friel.

Clare employed nominal corner forward Tadhg Connellan as a sweeper in an attempt to stifle Kerry.

Ferdia O’Brien, David Clifford, Seán O’Shea and Mark Ryan all kicked first half points for the winners.

David Clifford in action against Patrick Turner Hogan Cup final hero David Clifford scored five points for Kerry this evening (file pic). Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Clare had their best spell late in the first half when their best forward, Joe McGann goaled.

However early second half points from David Shaw and Clifford, stretched Kerry’s lead to six points, 1-9 to 1-3.

Kerry upped the pace of their game after the interval and although they lacked fluency at times, they were faced by a defensive Clare team who made it difficult for their opponents to find space.

Tweet by @Kerry GAA Source: Kerry GAA/Twitter

Points from Mike Breen, O’Shea and Shaw ensured however that were always in near total control.

Clare did well at stages and showed commendable resolve following a very poor start.

However Kerry never looked in danger of allowing the game to become a real battle and they had little difficulty reaching the 2016 provincial final.

Kerry scorers: David Clifford (0-4, 2fs), Seán O’Shea (0-4,1f), Brian Friel (1-0), David Shaw (0-2), Ferdia O’Brien, Mark Ryan, Mike Breen (0-1 each).

Clare scorers: Padraig Kelly (0-4, 3f), Joe McGann (1-0), Ciaran O’Donoghue, Darragh Bohannon (0-1 each).


1. Billy Courtney (Dr. Crokes)

2. Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses)
3. Niall Collins (Listowel Emmets)
4. Micheál Reidy (Ballymacelligott)

5. Michael Potts (Dr Crokes)
17. David Naughton (Dr Crokes)
7. Micheal Foley (Ballydonoghue)

8. Mike Breen (Beaufort)
9. Mark Ryan (Rathmore)

10. Dara Moynihan (Spa)
11. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)

13  Brian Friel (Rathmore)
14. David Clifford (Fossa)
15 Ferdia O’Brien (Austin Stacks)


18. Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmets) for Diarmuid O’Connor (half-time)
19. David Shaw (Dr Crokes) for Ferdia O’Brien (half-time)
22. Caolim Tehan (Glenbeigh Glencar) for David Naughton (49)
20. Tomás O’Connor (Ballymacelligott) for Mark Ryan (55-inj)
23. Dean Fitzgerald (Rathmore) for Brian Friel (60)
21. Kieran Dwyer (St Pats Blennerville) for Micheál Reidy (60). 


1 Mark Lillis (Cooraclare)

2 Peter Collins (Doora-Barefield)
3 Jonah Culligan (Ballyvaughan)
4 Damien O’Loughin (Corofin)

5 Jack Hannon (Doora-Barefield)
6 Andrew Shannon (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
7 Rowan Danaher (St Breckan’s)

8 Darragh Bohannon (Shannon Gaels)
9 Padraig Kelly (St Breckan’s)

10 Ross O’Doherty (Ennistymon)
11 Ciaran O’Donoghue (Cooraclare)
12 Dermot Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane)

13 Seán Rouine (Ennistymon)
14 Joe McGann (St Breckan’s)
23 Tadhg Connellan (Éire Óg) 


17. Conor Lynch (Clondegad) for Ross Doherty (half-time)
21. Tom Hannon (Doora-Barefield) for Andrew Shannon (44)
19. Danny Griffin (Éire Óg) for Sean Rouine (49)
15. Gavin Cooney (Éire Óg) for Dermot Coughlan (BC-59)
22. Conor O’Loughlin (Corofin) for Ciaran O’Donughue (60). 

Referee: John Ryan (Cork)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Here’s the Limerick minor team aiming to reach first Munster final in 18 years

Poll: Who do you think will win this year’s Ulster SFC?

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: