This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 15 July, 2020

Kerry, Cork, Clare and Tipperary schools all reach Corn Uí Mhuirí semi-finals

The last four clashes will take place on 6 February.

WEST KERRY SCHOOL PS Chorca Dhuibhne’s reign in the Corn Uí Mhuirí ended this afternoon after their quarter-final loss to St Brendan’s at Dr Crokes GAA grounds in Killarney.

The Dingle school have won the last four Corn Uí Mhuirí titles while also collecting Hogan Cup crowns in 2014 and 2015.

Daniel O'Brien and Mark Kehoe Tipperary's Mark Kehoe and Kerry's Daniel O'Brien won today with High School Clonmel and St Brendan's respectively. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Shorn of several of those successful stars, PS Chorca Dhuibhne bowed out today at the last eight juncture.

Today’s quarter-final action has produced semi-finalists from Kerry, Clare, Cork and Tipperary.

St Brendan’s (Killarney) will take on St Flannan’s (Ennis) in one semi-final clash next month on 6 February.

The second semi-final pits Cork’s Rochestown College up against Tipperary’s High School Clonmel.

Here’s how today’s games unfolded:

Tommy Griffin celebrates with his team after the game Tommy Griffin celebrates with the PS Chorca Dhuibhne players in Croke Park last April. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

St Brendan’s (Killarney) 1-14
PS Chorca Dhuibhne 0-4

St Brendan’s won the all-Kerry clash at the Dr Crokes grounds and ended PS Chorca Dhuibhne’s recent dominance of this competition. The result means that for the first time since 2010, PS Chorca Dhuibhne won’t feature at the final stage.

St Brendan’s were in front 1-6 to 0-3 at the interval with Fossa’s David Clifford netting in the 14th minute.

They controlled the game in the second-half to outscore their opponents by 0-8 to 0-1 and the team managed by Gary McGrath march onto the semi-final stage.

St Brendan’s last won this competition in 2010 and last reached the final in 2013.

Rochestown College 1-6
Clonakilty CC 0-7

Last year’s beaten finalists Rochestown College are one game away from contesting another decider after they edged an all-Cork clash against Clonakilty CC in Newcestown this afternoon.

The only goal of the game proved a crucial score when it arrived from Conor Russell in the 52nd minute. It transpired to be Rochestown College’s last score of the game as they lead 1-6 to 0-4 but despite conceding three points, they withstood Clonakilty’s late fightback.

James Holland hit 0-5 for the winners who were without the injured Sean Powter, Cork minor football captain last year.

St Flannan’s (Ennis) 1-9
PS SL Rathmore 1-8

A late goal from Maurice Nugent proved vital in helping St Flannan’s advance to the last four against Kerry opponents PS SL Rathmore in today’s quarter-final in Rathkeale.

Nugent struck to put the Clare school into a 1-9 to 1-6 lead and though Rathmore hit the last two points of the game, they couldn’t draw level.

St Flannan’s were in front 0-6 to 1-2 at the interval with Dean Fitzgerald raising Rathmore’s green flag.

Jamie Brosnan and Mark Ryan notched points that did put Rathmore in front 1-6 to 0-8 but they concession of that late goal proved costly.

St Flannan’s were last champions of this competition in 1995 and last featured in a final in 2006.

High School Clonmel 1-11
Coláiste Choilm (Ballincollig) 1-8

High School Clonmel ensured there will be Tipperary representatives in the semi-finals after they claimed a three-point win over Cork school Coláiste Choilm today.

The match was played at the WIT Sports Campus in Carriganore having been switched from Mallow.

Matthew Whelan’s first-half goal gave Coláiste Choilm a boost but they trailed 0-7 to 1-3 at the break.

High School Clonmel managed to close out the game in the second-half with Shane O’Meara hitting the net for them.

O’Brien goal seals Limerick’s passage through to Munster hurling league final

Here are the 17 GAA league games that Setanta Sports are showing this spring

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: