Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 4°C
Ryan Byrne/INPHO Billy Courtney is back in goal for the Kerry minor footballers.
# Minor
Two changes for Kerry and one for Clare before Munster football semi-final
Miltown Malbay is the venue for tomorrow’s game.

Updated 13.30pm

KERRY HAVE MADE two changes to their team for tomorrow night’s Electric Ireland Munster minor football semi-final while opponents Clare have made just the one.

Dr Crokes duo Billy Courtney and Michael Potts come in to the Kerry team with Courtney named in goal while Potts is selected at right half-back.

Sean Ó Luing drops to the bench where he will be the substitute goalkeeper while David Naughton is the other player to make way from the side that defeated Waterford in the first round.

Clare bring Jack Hannon into their team at right half-back with Cillian Flaherty the player to lose out as they seek to build on their opening round success over Limerick.

Courtney and Potts join their St Brendan’s Hogan Cup winning teammates Daniel O’Brien, Dara Moynihan and David Clifford in the starting Kerry side.

Courtney lined out at midfield for the Killarney school in that triumph in Croke Park while his versatility is demonstrated by the fact that he started in goal for Kerry in last September’s All-Ireland minor final win over Tipperary.

Sean O’Shea, who captains the current Kerry side, also started in last year’s minor final while O’Brien, Mike Breen and Graham O’Sullivan all came on as substitutes in that match.

Throw-in in Miltown Malbay tomorrow night is 7pm.


1. Billy Courtney (Dr Crokes)

2. Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses)
3. Niall Collins (Listowel Emmets)
4. Micheál Reidy (Ballymacelligott)

5. Michael Potts (Dr. Crokes)
6. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)
7. Micheal Foley (Ballydonoghue)

8. Mike Breen (Beaufort)
9. Mark Ryan (Rathmore)

10. Dara Moynihan (Spa)
11. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)

13. Brian Friel (Rathmore)
14. David Clifford (Fossa)
15. Ferdia O’Brien (Austin Stacks)


16. Sean Ó Lúing (An Ghaeltacht)
17. David Naughton (Dr. Crokes)
18. Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmets)
19. David Shaw (Dr. Crokes)
20. Tomás O’Connor (Ballymacelligott)
21. Kieran Dwyer (St. Pats)
22. Caolim Teahan (Glenbeigh-Glencar)
23. Dean Fitzgerald (Rathmore)
24. Stefan Okunbar (Na Gaeil)


1. Mark Lillis (Cooraclare)

2. Peter Collins (Doora-Barefield)
3. Jonah Culligan (Ballyvaughan)
4. Damien O’Loughlin (Corofin)

5. Jack Hannon (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
6. Andrew Shannon (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
7. Rowan Danaher (St Breckans)

8. Darragh Bohannon (Shannon Gaels)
9. Padraig Kelly (St Breckans)

10. Ross O’Doherty (Ennistymon)
11. Ciaran O’Donoghue (Cooraclare)
12. Dermot Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane)

13. Sean Rouine (Ennistymon)
14. Joseph McGann (St Breckans)
15. Gavin Cooney (Éire Óg)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Kelly the scoring hero as Clare claim dramatic league final win over Waterford

Delahunty nails free with last kick of the game to hand Waterford Division 3 title


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel