Dublin: 17°C Sunday 3 July 2022

Kildare skipper Doyle ruled out of Armagh qualifier clash as Geezer tweaks his attack

Kieran McGeeney battles the side he led to the All-Ireland semi-finals seven years ago.

Image: James Crombie; ©INPHO/James Crombie/INPHO

KILDARE CAPTAIN EOIN DOYLE will miss Saturday’s All-Ireland qualifier clash with Armagh because of a broken thumb sustained in the build-up to the Leinster decider against Dublin.

The centre half-back had surgery immediately after the defeat but has not recovered in time to face the Orchard County.

In a reshuffled half-back line, Johnny Byrne moves across to fill in for Doyle and Peter Kelly comes in at right half-back.

Kevin Feely is available to start after having the black card he picked up against the Dubs rescinded.

Meanwhile, Kieran McGeeney has made two changes to his Armagh attack as he prepares to face the side he guided to an All-Ireland semi-final seven years ago.

After his key contribution against Tipperary in the last round, Ethan Rafferty comes into the half-forward line, as does Anto Duffy, with Ciaran O’Hanlon and Gregory McCabe making way.

Mark Shields drops back to defence.


1. Mark Donnelan (Maynooth)

2. Mark O’Grady (Celbridge)
3. David Hyland (Athy)
4. Ollie Lyons (Celbridge)

5. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House)
6. Johnny Byrne (Allenwood)
7. Keith Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)

8. Kevin Feely (Athy)
9. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)

10. Fergal Conway (Celbridge)
11. Niall Kelly (Athy)
12. David Slattery (Confey)

13. Paddy Brophy (Celbridge)
14. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge)
15. Cathal McNally (Johnstownbridge)


1. Blaine Hughes (Carrickcruppen)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

2. James Morgan (Crossmaglen)
3. Charlie Vernon (Armagh Harps)
4. Paul Hughes (Crossmaglen)

5. Mark Shields ((Whitecross))
6. Brendan Donaghy (Clonmore Robert Emmets)
7. Aidan Forker (Maghery Sean MacDermotts)

8. Stephen Sheridan (Forkhill)
9. Niall Grimley (Madden Raparees)

10. Ethan Rafferty (St Colmcilles Grange)
11. Anthony Duffy (Pearse Og)
12. Rory Grugan (Ballymacnab)

13. Jamie Clarke (Crossmaglen)
14. Andrew Murnin (St Paul’s Lurgan)
15. Gavin McParland (Ballymacnab).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Buckley and Barry return to Kerry team for All-Ireland quarter-final meeting with Galway

Your essential guide to the weekend’s GAA football championship action

About the author:

Eoin O'Callaghan

Read next: