Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Thursday 25 February 2021

3 All-Ireland club winners in Kilkenny team, one change for Galway and Tipperary make two switches

Kilkenny and Galway meet in the Leinster U20 hurling semi-final tomorrow night while Tipperary are in the Munster final on Sunday.

Updated Dec 17th 2020, 9:53 PM

KILKENNY SENIOR EOIN Cody is one of three Ballyhale Shamrocks All-Ireland club winners in the county’s U20 side that will take on Galway tomorrow night.

eoin-cody Eoin Cody in action for the Kilkenny senior side against Dublin. Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

The sides meet in the Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U20 hurling semi-final tomorrow night in O’Moore Park in Portlaoise at 7.30pm.

Cody, who emerged for the Kilkenny senior side this year, is selected at centre-forward with club-mates Dean Mason starting in goal and Darragh Corcoran named at full-back. The trio helped Ballyhale win the All-Ireland club final back in January against Tipperary’s Borris-Ileigh.

darragh-corcoran-with-james-devaney Darragh Corcoran in action for Ballyhale against Borris-Ileigh. Source: Tom O'Hanlon/INPHO

The Kilkenny team, managed by Derek Lyng with Peter Barry and Michael Rice serving as selectors, have named six players who featured for the U20s during the loss to Cork at the All-Ireland semi-final stage last year. Mason and Cody along with David Blanchfield, Conor Murphy, Conor Heary and Stephen Donnelly are the survivors from that game.

Galway thumped Laois by 4-21 to 0-7 in last week’s quarter-final and have made just the one change from that game. Conor Flaherty comes in at centre-back and replaces Adam Brett.

Meanwhile the Tipperary minor team have made two changes for Sunday’s Munster final against Limerick. Philly Hayes is drafted in at corner-back while David Fogarty comes in at corner-forward.

Throw-in at the Gaelic Grounds is 1pm as Tipperary seek to build on last weekend’s semi-final win over Waterford.


1. Dean Mason (Ballyhale Shmarocks)

2. Darragh O’Keeffe (Dunnamaggin)
3. Darragh Corcoran (James Stephens)
4. Shane Staunton (Clara)

5. Conor Murphy (Bennettsbridge)
6. David Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
7. Martin O’Neill (Mooncoin)

8. Cian Kenny (James Stephens)
9. Killian Egan (Graigue-Ballycallan)

10. Martin O’Connell (Clara)
11. Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Conor Heary (O’Loughlin Gaels)

13. Ian Byrne (Glenmore)
14. Stephen Donnelly (Thomastown)
15. Eoin Guilfoyle (James Stephens)


16. Aidan Tallis (Lisdowney)
17. James Brennan (Erins Own)
18. Sean Gannon (Mooncoin)
19. Eoin Cahill (Conahy Shamrocks)
20. Conor Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels)
21. Ciaran Brennan (Bennettsbridge)
22. Jack Morrissey (St Patrick’s)
23. Cian Kinsella (Piltown)
24. Eoghan O’Neill (Carrickshock)


1. Darach Fahy (Ardrahan)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

2. Oisín Salmon (Clarinbridge)
3. TJ Brennan (Clarinbridge – captain)
4. Jason O’Donoghue (Gort) 

5. Diarmuid Kilcommins (Annaghdown)
6. Conor Flaherty (Carnmore)
7. Dylan Shaughnessy (Loughrea)

8. Ian McGlynn (Kilconieron) 
9. Alex Connaire (Sarsfields)

10. Conor Walsh (Turloughmore)
11. Sean Neary (Castlegar)
12. Adrian Prendergast (Craughwell)

13. Oisín Flannery (St Thomas)
14. John Fleming (Meelick-Eyrecourt)
15. Donal O’Shea (Salthill-Knocknacarra)


16. Liam Reilly (Castlegar)
17. Caimin Kileen (Loughrea)
18. Adam Brett (Killimordaly)
19. Shane Quirke (Athenry)
20. Eoin Lawless (Athenry)
21. Sean McDonagh (Mountbellew-Moylough)
22. Anthony Byrnes (Loughrea)
23. Mark Kennedy (Clarinbridge)
24. Dean Callinan (Craughwell)

Tipperary MH Munster Final 2020


1. Jason O’Dwyer – Clonoulty-Rossmore

2. Danny Slattery – Clonoulty-Rossmore
3. Robert Doyle – Clonoulty-Rossmore
4. Philly Hayes – Durlas Óg

5. Cathal Quinn – Cashel King Cormacs
6. Michael Corcoran (Captain) – Silvermines
7. Luke Shanahan – Upperchurch-Drombane

8. Darragh Stakelum – Thurles Sarsfields
9. Peter McGarry – St. Mary’s

10. Conor McKelvey – Silvermines
11. Ciaran McCormack – Loughmore-Castleiney
12. Jack Leamy – Golden-Kilfeacle

13. Sean Kenneally – Moneygall
14. Tony Cahill – Drom-Inch
15. David Fogarty – Holycross-Ballycahill


16. Dylan O’ Grady – Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams
17. Joe Caesar – Holycross-Ballycahill
18. Stephen Ferncombe – Clonoulty-Rossmore
19. Maidhc Fitzpatrick – Drom-Inch
20. Kenny Lee – Roscrea
21. Darragh Minogue – Durlas Óg
22. Darragh Ryan – Kiladangan
23. Eddie Ryan – Borris-Ileigh
24. Pat Ryan – Upperchurch-Drombane

Screenshot 2020-11-24 at 9.04.07 AM

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel