Leinster U21 hurling final star added to Kilkenny senior panel to face Waterford

Richie Leahy brought into the squad by Brian Cody.

RICHIE LEAHY’S STAR display in Wednesday night’s Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 hurling final has seen him added to the Kilkenny senior squad to face Waterford in the qualifiers tomorrow night.

Richie Leahy with Billy Ryan after the game Richie Leahy celebrates Wednesday's Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

That’s the only alteration to the Kilkenny match day squad with the starting team unchanged from last weekend’s win over Limerick in Nowlan Park.

Leahy scored 0-6 from play and claimed the man-of-the-match award in the U21 win over Wexford in Nowlan Park. The Rower-Inistioge man featured in the league for the senior side this spring, notably impressing against Cork, but suffered injury problems since then.

There are 11 players in the side who started in last August’s All-Ireland semi-final replay in Thurles against Waterford with Joe Lyng, Paddy Deegan, Chris Bolger and Ger Aylward all having forced their way into the starting side.

Shane Prendergast, Mark Bergin and Liam Blanchfield are all now on the bench while Eoin Larkin has retired since that game.


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

5. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)
6. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
7. Joe Lyng (Rower Inistioge)

8. Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
9. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)

10. Chris Bolger (Clara)
11. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
12. T J Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

13. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)


16. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
17. Kieran Joyce (Rower Inistioge)
18. Shane Prendergast (Clara)
19. Robert Lennon (Bennettsbridge)
20. Lester Ryan (Clara)
21. Ollie Walsh (Dicksboro)
22. Kevin Kelly (St Patricks)
23. Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown)
24. Mark Bergin (O’Loughlin Gaels)
25. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
26. Richie Leahy (Rower Inistioge)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Two changes for Clare ahead of first Munster senior hurling final in nine years

Your essential guide to the weekend’s GAA football championship action

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: