This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018

Adrian Mullen's 1-8 inspires Kilkenny to Leinster final following 30-point demolition of Laois

They’ll face Dublin in the decider.

Kilkenny's Adrian Mullen (file pic).
Kilkenny's Adrian Mullen (file pic).
Image: Tom Beary/INPHO

Kilkenny 6-21

Laois 0-9

Steven Miller reports from O’Moore Park

ADRIAN MULLEN HELPED himself to 1-8 as Kilkenny booked their place in the Leinster minor hurling final thanks to a massive 30-point win over Laois in O’Moore Park.

The Ballyhale Shamrocks man got his goal after just three minutes and despite playing against a strong wind, Kilkenny led their hosts by 1-8 to 0-6 at half time.

Laois had started well with points from Oisin Bennett, James Keyes and Daniel Comerford but they struggled to contain the visitors and were always going to be up against it in the second half, such was the strength of the breeze.

And their cause wasn’t made any easier when Liam Delaney got his marching orders less than a minute after the restart.

John Dowd got Kilkenny’s second goal midway through the half when his shot for a point dropped into the back of the net and Sean Ryan pounced for their third moments later when he reacted quickest to the ball coming back off the post.

Laois could only manage three points in the second half and Kilkenny added three further goals in the final ten minutes – from Jesse Roberts, Niall Brassil and sub Daithi Barron.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Adrian Mullen 1-8 (0-3 frees), Niall Brassil 1-3, Jessie Roberts 1-2, John Dowd 1-2, Sean Ryan 1-2, Daithi Barron 1-1, Jim Ryan 0-2, Eoin O’Shea 0-1;

Scorers for Laois: Oisin Bennett 0-6 (all frees), Daniel Comerford, James Keyes and Ciaran Comerford 0-1 each


1. Cathal Dunne (Clough-Ballacolla)

2. Daniel Breen (Camross)
3. John Maher (Rosenallis)
4. Diarmuid Conway (Clough-Ballacolla)

5. Ryan Murphy (Galmoy)
6. Padraig Delaney (The Harps)
7. Eoin O’Connor (Portlaoise)

8. PJ Daly (Clonad)
9. Liam Senior (Clonaslee-St Manman’s)

10. Ciaran Comerford (The Harps)
11. Liam Delaney (Camross)
12. Daniel Comerford (The Harps)

13. James Keyes (Colt)
14. Oisin Bennett (Camross)
15. Joe Phelan (Castletown)

Subs for Laois

Joe McCormack (Castletown) for Murphy (24 mins)
Padraig Dunne (The Harps) for D Comerford (47 mins)
Odhran Phelan (Camross) for Daly (48 mins)
Brandon McGinley (Rathdowney-Errill) for  J Phelan (51 mins)


1. Dean Mason  (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

2. Tommy Ronan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
3. Michael Carey (Young Irelands)
4. Darragh Walsh (Piltown)

5. James Brennan (Erins Own)
6. Conor Flynn (Graigue-Ballycallan)
7. Jordan Molloy (O’Loughlin Gaels)

8. Eoin O’Shea (O’Loughlin Gaels)
9. Niall Brassil (James Stephens)

10. Jesse Roberts (Graigue-Ballycallan)
11. John Dowd (Erins Own)
12. Jim Ryan (Rower-Inistiogue)

13. Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
14. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Sean Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)

Subs for Kilkenny:

Jack Kelly (Barrow Rangers) for Cody (47 mins)
Daithi Brennan (Thomastown) for S Ryan (48 mins)
Brian Staunton (Thomastown) for Flynn (55 mins)
Niall Brennan (Lisdowney) for J Ryan (55 mins)

Source: The42 GAA/SoundCloud

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Mark O’Connor makes AFL debut but Geelong overpowered

Mahrez slips up with two-touch penalty attempt to let Man City off the hook

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Steven Miller

Read next: