Tuesday 31 January 2023 Dublin: 8°C
# Team news
Fennelly a welcome return as Kilkenny make four changes ahead of Limerick test
Nowlan Park plays host to the All-Ireland qualifier meeting this Saturday evening.

An injured Michael Fennelly dejected Donall Farmer / INPHO Michael Fennelly hasn't donned the black and amber since last summer. Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

MICHAEL FENNELLY RETURNS to the Kilkenny starting side for the first time since last August’s All-Ireland semi-final replay victory over Waterford, as Brian Cody has made four changes to his side to face Limerick.

The Ballyhale Shamrocks man ruptured his Achilles tendon on that day last year, and the three-time All Star makes his return to the Cats’ midfield tomorrow at Nowlan Park (7.00pm).

Joey Holden and Joe Lyng come into defence in place of Kieran Joyce and Conor O’Shea — who both started in their Leinster semi-final defeat to Wexford — while Chris Bolger starts in the half forward line instead of Lester Ryan.

Robert Lennon is the fourth Kilkenny player to make way.


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

5. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)
6. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
7. Joe Lyng (Rower Inistioge)

8. Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
9. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)

10. Chris Bolger (Clara)
11. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
12. T J Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

13. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)


16. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
17. Kieran Joyce (Rower Inistioge)
18. Shane Prendergast (Clara)
19. Robert Lennon (Bennettsbridge)
20. Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge)
21. Lester Ryan (Clara)
22. Ollie Walsh (Dicksboro)
23. Kevin Kelly (St Patricks)
24. Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown)
25. Mark Bergin (O’Loughlin Gaels)
26. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)


Meanwhile, the Kilkenny minors have named their side to face Dublin in the Electric Ireland Leinster Minor hurling final in Croke Park on Sunday.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your essential guide to the weekend’s GAA football championship action

O’Shea signs new deal and Borini leaves for Milan as Sunderland begin life under Grayson

Your Voice
Readers Comments