Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Friday 15 January 2021

Cats crush Premier to reach All-Ireland hurling decider

There was no stopping Kilkenny this afternoon as they swept to their seventh successive All-Ireland final with a phenomenal display in their semi-final against Tipperary.

Kilkenny's TJ Reid and Aidan Fogarty celebrate a score.
Kilkenny's TJ Reid and Aidan Fogarty celebrate a score.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Kilkenny 4-24
Tipperary 1-15

KILKENNY stormed into the final of this year’s All-Ireland senior hurling championship when they destroyed Tipperary in the second-half of this afternoon’s semi-final clash in Croke Park.

The Cats trailed by a point at the interval, 1-11 to 1-10, but in a thoroughly dominant second-half display they outscored their opponents by 3-15 to 0-5 to cruise to an eighteen-point victory. 2010 champions Tipperary were left shell-shocked as they could not suppress Kilkenny’s charge and Brian Cody’s side will now face Galway, in a repeat of this year’s Leinster final, in the national decider on September 9th.

The first-half was tight and cagey stuff and the teams were tied at 0-7 apiece by the 21st minute. The contest was extremely physical in the opening stages and it was noticeable that Tipperary were attempting to nullify the Kilkenny defence with Lar Corbett following Tommy Walsh around the pitch. Kilkenny made a crucial breakthrough in the 26th minute when they found the net courtesy of TJ Reid after great work by Henry Shefflin as they opened up a 1-9 to 0-7 advantage.

However Tipperary bounced back before the break with Pa Bourke raising a green flag after Lar Corbett challenged Kilkenny goalkeeper David Herity to break the ball for his Thurles Sarsfields club mate. And a pair of points from Bourke, coupled with one by Noel McGrath, saw Tipperary edge in front by 1-10 to 1-9 at the interval.

But the game changed dramatically after the interval. Initially matters were keenly contested with the teams tied at 1-12 apiece by the 41st minute but when Aidan Fogarty found the net after a terrific run through the Tipperary defence in the 46th minute, Kilkenny were 2-14 to 1-13 ahead. The floodgates quickly opened with Eoin Larkin striking home Kilkenny’s third goal in the 52nd minute before TJ Reid lashed their fourth to the net in the 57th minute to leave the winners ahead by 4-17 to 1-13.

The match was a procession from there to the finish with Kilkenny’s defence on top and their attack scoring at will. Henry Shefflin ended up with 0-11 with a sublime display of free taking while Aidan Fogarty grabbed 1-3 and TJ Reid struck 2-2. Tipperary substitute John O’Neill did grab a couple of consolation points but there was no stopping Kilkenny’s supreme march to success.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Henry Shefflin 0-11 (0-8f, 0-2 ’65), TJ Reid 2-2, Aidan Fogarty 1-3, Eoin Larkin 1-0, Richie Power 0-3 (0-2f), Colin Fennelly, Brian Hogan, Cillian Buckley, Michael Rice, Michael Fennelly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Pa Bourke 1-8 (0-4f, 0-4 ’65), Noel McGrath, John O’Neill 0-2 each, Conor O’Mahony, Shane McGrath, John O’Brien 0-1 each.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

KILKENNY: 1. David Herity (Dunamaggin); 2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort), 3. JJ Delaney (Fenians), 4. Jackie Tyrrell (James Stephens); 5. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan), 6. Brian Hogan (O’Loughlin Gaels), 7. Kieran Joyce (Rower-Inistioge); 8. Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 9. Michael Rice (Carrickshock); 10. Henry Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 12. Eoin Larkin (James Stephens); 13. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 14. Richie Power (Carrickshock), 15. Aidan Fogarty (Emeralds).

Subs: 22. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro) for Rice (inj), Richie Doyle (Barrow Rangers) for Murphy, Matthew Ruth (James Stephens) for Colin Fennelly, Noel Hickey (Dunnamaggin) from Joyce,  Conor Fogarty (Erins Own) for Aidan Fogarty.

TIPPERARY: 1. Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange); 2. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty), 3. Paul Curran (Mullinahone), 4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields); 5. Thomas Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons), 6. Conor O’Mahony (Newport), 7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields); 8. Brendan Maher (Borris–Ileigh), 9. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch); 10. Pa Bourke (Thurles Sarsfields), 11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha & Dorrha), 12. Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields); 13. Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs), 14. John O’Brien (Toomevara), 15. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney).

Subs: Shane Bourke (JK Brackens) for O’Meara, Paddy Stapleton (Borrisoleigh) for Stapleton, Donagh Maher (Burgess) for Curran, James Woodlock (Drom-Inch) for Brendan Maher, John O’Neill (Clonoulty-Rossmore) for O’Brien.

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Cork)

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: