Kilkenny power past Waterford in extra-time of All-Ireland minor semi-final

John Walsh’s extra-time goal was crucial in spurring Kilkenny to success.

Tommy Grealy / INPHO Tommy Grealy / INPHO / INPHO

Kilkenny 1-23
Waterford 1-14

A POWERFUL DISPLAY in extra-time saw Kilkenny progress to the All-Ireland minor hurling final in today’s semi-final encounter against Waterford in Croke Park.

John Walsh’s extra-time goal was the crucial score as he burst through before booting the ball to the net. Inside attacking duo Alan Murphy and Liam Blanchfield struck 0-16 between them as Kilkenny ultimately cruised to victory.

The game had finished in a welter of excitement in normal time. Patrick Curran nailed a pair of frees to bring Waterford level at 0-15 to 1-12 before Cormac Curran then gave Waterford the lead with a fine point.

Kilkenny then manufactured a goal chance but Walsh was denied by Waterford goalkeeper Billy Nolan. Yet Kilkenn’ys ace free taker Alan Murphy held his nerve to land the resultant ’65 and send the game into extra-time.

Kilkenny had bossed the first-half exchanges and were in front at 0-9 to 0-4 at one juncture before Waterford cut the deficit to 0-10 to 0-6 at the interval. A terrific individual goal by Shane Bennett gave Waterford an injection of life early in the second-half and they matched Kilkenny on the scoreboard throughout that period.

It looked like the Deise had stole victory as well until Murphy held his nerve to save Kilkenny and the Cats were outstanding in extra-time as they booked a place in the decider on September 7th.

Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Kilkenny: Alan Murphy 0-11 (0-7f, 0-3 ’65), Liam Blanchfield 0-5, John Walsh 1-1, Sean Morrissey, Ronan Corcoran 0-2 each, Conor Browne, Billy Ryan 0-1 each.Scorers for Waterford: Patrick Curran 0-6 (0-5f), Shane Bennett 1-1, Andy Molumby 0-3, Cormac Curran 0-2, Eddie Meaney 0-1.


1. Darren Brennan (St Lachtain’s)

4. Cathal McGrath (John Lockes)
3. Conor Delaney (Erins Own)
18. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)

5. Pat Lyng (Rower-Inistioge)
7. Darragh Joyce (Rower-Inistioge – captain)
6. Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge)

8. Conor Browne (James Stephens)
9. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens)

10. Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
11. Ross Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels)
12. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)

13. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)
14. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
15. Ronan Corcoran (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

21. John Walsh (Mullinavat) for Ryan (37)
20. Eoin Kenny (Slieverue) for Butler (39)
17. Liam Hennessy (Glenmore) for Corcoran (72)

Tommy Grealy / INPHO Tommy Grealy / INPHO / INPHO


1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)

4. Michael Cronin (Ardmore)
3. Eddie Hayden (Ballygunner)
2. David Prendergast (Lismore)

5. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside)
6. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
7. Jack Mullaney (Stradbally)

8. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)
12. Cormac Curran (Brickey Rangers)

10. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
11. Colm Roche (Shamrocks)
13. Peter Hogan (Ballygunner)

15. Shane Ryan (De La Salle)
14. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
9. Andy Molumby (Cappoquin)

17. Eddie Meaney (De La Salle) for Ryan (38)
21. Shane Murray (Cappoquin) for Mullaney (48)
15. Shane Ryan (De La Salle) for Roche (72)
19. Aaron O’Sullivan (Cappoquin) for Hogan (75)

John Keenan (Wicklow)

Tommy Grealy / INPHO Tommy Grealy / INPHO / INPHO

Poll: Who will win today’s All-Ireland SHC semi-final?

Des Cahill and Joe Brolly got into a heated exchange over the doctor push incident at Croker yesterday

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.