This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 January, 2020

3 changes for Kilkenny as they face Westmeath in Leinster U21 semi-final a year after shock defeat

Eddie Brennan’s side will be gunning for revenge.

KILKENNY BOSS EDDIE Brennan has made three changes for tomorrow’s Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 hurling semi-final against Westmeath as they aim to atone for last year’s quarter-final loss.

Eddie Brennan Kilkenny U21 hurling manager Eddie Brennan Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

James Burke comes in at corner-back, Luke Scanlon is selected at midfield and John Donnelly is named at centre-forward as Kilkenny seek to build on their success over Dublin.

Ryan Bergin, Huw Lawlor and John Walsh are the players to make way for Kilkenny.

Westmeath have boosted their attack with the inclusion of two forwards Darragh Clinton and Niall Mitchell after they despatched Laois in their quarter-final tie by 1-20 to 0-12.

Both these teams have selected nine players who started in that stunning result in Mullingar when Westmeath won by 1-11 to 0-12.


1. Darren Brennan (St Lachtain’s)

2. Michael Cody (Dunnamaggin)
3. Conor Delaney (Erins Own)
4. James Burke (Thomastown)

5. Conor Doheny (Dicksboro)
6. Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge)
7. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)

8. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens)
9. Pat Lyng (Rower-Inistioge)

10. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)
11. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
12. Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)

13. Shane Walsh (Tullaroan)
14. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
15. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)


16. Liam Dunphy (Lisdowney)
17. Ryan Bergin (John Lockes)
18. Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
19. Niall McMahon (Erins Own)
20. Kevin Crowley (Mooncoin)
21. Eoin Kenny (Slieverue)
21. John Walsh (Mullinavat)
22. Richie Leahy (Rower Inistioge)
23. Conor Hennessy (Tullogher Rosbercon)
24. James Bergin (Conahy Shamrocks)


1. Sean Maher (Castletown Geoghegan)

2. Sean Quinn (Raharney)
3. Conor Shaw (Brownstown)
4. Darren Giles (Raharney)

5. Naoise McKenna (Castletown Geoghegan)
6. Darragh Egerton (Clonkill)
7. Joe Rabbitte (Castlepollard)

8. Michael Daly (Lough Lene Gaels)
9. Shane Clavin (Castletown Geoghegan)

10. Darragh Clinton (Delvin)
11. Killian Doyle (Raharney)
12. Niall Mitchell (Clonkill)

13. James Goonery (Raharney)
14. Jack Galvin (Cullion)
15. Ciaran Doyle (Raharney)


16. Marcus Kennedy (Lough Lene Gaels)
17. Conor Kane (Castletown Geoghegan)
18. Johnny Bermingham (Castletown Geoghegan)
19. Jack O’Brien (Clonkill)
20. Darren Finn (Raharney)
21. Darragh O’Reilly (Castlepollard)
22. Adam Loughlin (Clonkill)
23. Brendan Heeney (Castletown Geoghegan)
24. Daire Daly (Lough Lene Gaels)
25. Donal Liddy (St Oliver Plunkett’s)
26. Stephen Colgan (Clonkill)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Here are the fixture details as Mayo, Donegal, Meath and Clare get set for their opening qualifiers

Back from a torn cruciate, coping with a red card and awaiting a first Munster senior final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: