This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 4 April, 2020

32 clubs gear up for Kilmacud Crokes football sevens action

The traditional All-Ireland final curtain-raiser takes centre stage next Saturday.

Former Mayo Footballer Kevin O'Neill with former Dublin footballer Mark Vaughan at Monday's launch in Croke Park.
Former Mayo Footballer Kevin O'Neill with former Dublin footballer Mark Vaughan at Monday's launch in Croke Park.
Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

THE TRADITIONAL BUILD-UP to the All-Ireland senior football final takes place on Saturday with the 41st running of the FBD Kilmacud Crokes All-Ireland football sevens tournament.

32 clubs from 16 counties will be in action in the tournament.

Reigning champions St Gall’s will be in action along with other past winners of the Kilmacud Crokes Sevens in Bryansford, Corofin, Kilmacud Crokes and Tuam Stars.

Tempo Maguires, Emmet Óg Killoe, St Gall’s and St Patrick’s all claimed senior crowns in their respective counties last year.

The action throws in on Saturday morning with the opening matches in the eight groups spread over three venues in the Stillorgan area.

The matches in Groups 1 and 2 take place in Glenalbyn, games in Groups 3 and 4 in St Olafs and the ties in Groups 5, 6, 7 and 8 with the action commencing at 11am.

The quarter-finals, semi-finals and final will all take place at the Glenalbyn venue on Saturday evening.

Group 1: Clan na nGael (Dublin), Eoghan Rua Coleraine (Derry), Ilen Rovers (Cork), Celbridge (Kildare).

Group 2: Carbury (Kildare), St Oliver Plunkett’s Eoghan Ruadh (Dublin), Tempo Maguires (Fermanagh), Claremorris (Mayo).

Group 3: Emmet Óg Killoe (Longford), Naomh Conaill (Donegal), Caherlistrane (Galway), Naomh Olaf (Dublin).

Group 4: Simonstown Gaels (Meath), St Gall’s (Antrim), Aghamore (Mayo), Bray Emmetts (Wicklow).

Group 5: St Patrick’s (Wicklow), Naomh Mícheál (Donegal), Padraig Pearses (Roscommon), Bryansford (Down).

Group 6: Parnells (Dublin), Kickhams Creggan (Antrim), St Laurence’s (Kildare), Corofin (Galway).

Group 7: Leixlip (Kildare), Ballyholland Harps (Down), Dungannon Thomas Clarke’s (Tyrone), Kilkerrin-Clonberne (Galway).

Group 8: Kilmacud Crokes (Dublin), Castleblayney Faughs (Monaghan), Tuam Stars (Galway), Gaoth Dobhair (Donegal).

Munster footballers meet to voice opposition to championship seeding system

James McGrath appointed as All-Ireland final replay referee

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: