Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Ryan Byrne/INPHO Scott Fardy is staying at home.
# heading south
Fardy and Toner stay at home as Leinster announce 28-man squad for South Africa tour
Leo Cullen’s travelling party leave Dublin this evening.

JOEY CARBERY HAS proved his fitness in time to make the plane for Leinster’s tour to South Africa, but both Scott Fardy and Devin Toner are remaining at home as their wives are expecting their first children in the coming weeks.

It means Leo Cullen’s 28-man squad for the back-to-back games against the Southern Kings and Cheetahs contains just three recognised second-rows after Ian Nagle was ruled out for 12 weeks.

Nagle will undergo surgery on his pectoral muscle, leaving Mick Kearney, Ross Molony and the fit-again James Ryan as the only second-row options available to Cullen, although Rhys Ruddock can cover that position if required.

Dave Kearney, Noel Reid, Jordi Murphy and Fegus McFadden have also recovered from their respective injuries in time to board this evening’s flight to Johannesburg.

As was already confirmed, the eastern province are without their 2017 Lions as well as a number of internationals including Jamie Heaslip, Rob Kearney, Garry Ringrose and Dan Leavy.

Leinster trained at their UCD base yesterday and this morning ahead of the two-week trip to the southern hemisphere.

Joey Carbery Ryan Byrne / INPHO Joey Carbery makes the flight and could make his first appearance of the season. Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

The travelling party will arrive in Johannesburg tomorrow morning ahead of the Pro14 games against the Kings in Port Elizabeth on Saturday and the Cheetahs on Friday week in Bloemfontein.

Leinster, along with Italian club Zebre, will become the first sides to play on South African soil in the expanded Pro14 competition.

Saturday’s clash against the Kings (KO 2.15pm) will be shown live on TG4 while the meeting with the Cheetahs (KO 8pm) is available on Sky Sports.

Leinster squad for South Africa:

  • Michael Bent
  • Adam Byrne
  • Ed Byrne
  • Ross Byrne
  • Joey Carbery
  • Jack Conan
  • Seán Cronin
  • Barry Daly
  • Max Deegan
  • Peter Dooley
  • Dave Kearney
  • Jamison Gibson-Park
  • Cian Healy
  • Mick Kearney
  • Jordan Larmour
  • Cathal Marsh
  • Ross Molony
  • Jordi Murphy
  • Rory O’Loughlin
  • Fergus McFadden
  • Luke McGrath
  • Isa Nacewa
  • Andrew Porter
  • Noel Reid
  • Rhys Ruddock
  • James Ryan
  • James Tracy
  • Josh van der Flier

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Ulster without two key players for Friday’s showdown with defending champions

Munster want to give youth a chance before bringing in second row injury cover

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel