Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Friday 7 May 2021

Conan captains Leinster as Byrne handed 10 shirt for Ulster clash

Barry Daly, Rory O’Loughlin and Niall Morris all start in an exciting backline.

JACK CONAN WILL captain Leinster from number eight in tomorrow’s pre-season friendly against Ulster at Navan RFC [3pm].

The Ireland international is joined by Dan Leavy and Dominic Ryan in a dynamic back row, while Hayden Triggs and Ross Molony link up in the engine room of the pack.

Ross Byrne Ross Byrne starts at 10. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Peter Dooley gets the nod from head coach Leo Cullen at loosehead, with hooker James Tracy and tighthead Michael Bent completing the front row.

Former Ireland U20 out-half Ross Byrne is given the chance to lead an exciting backline, with his fellow St. Michael’s College alumnus Nick McCarthy at scrum-half.

Ireland 7s captain Tom Daly is named at inside centre, as 22-year-old Rory O’Loughlin gets handed the 13 shirt.

Niall Morris, back at Leinster after five years with Leicester Tigers, lines out at fullback, while Adam Byrne and the on-trial Barry Daly are on the wings.

Meanwhile, Ulster have named a 32-man squad for the clash, with new signings Rodney Ah You, Angus Lloyd and Brett Herron included.

Director of rugby Les Kiss has also called on non-contracted club players Connor Smyth [Ballymena] and Conor Kelly [Queen's University].


15. Niall Morris
14. Adam Byrne
13. Rory O’Loughlin
12. Tom Daly
11. Barry Daly
10. Ross Byrne
9. Nick McCarthy

1. Peter Dooley
2. James Tracy
3. Michael Bent
4. Ross Molony
5. Hayden Triggs
6. Dominic Ryan
7. Dan Leavy
8. Jack Conan (captain)

Replacements from:

Bryan Byrne
Sean McNulty
Andrew Porter
Vakh Abdaladze
Ian Nagle
Peadar Timmins
Josh van der Flier
Josh Murphy
Luke McGrath
Charlie Rock
Joey Carbery
Cathal Marsh
Zane Kirchner
Fergus McFadden
Billy Dardis

Ulster squad:


Kyle McCall, Andy Warwick, Michael Lagan, John Andrew, Johnny Murphy, Zack McCall, Johnny Simpson, Rodney Ah You, Ross Kane, Connor Smyth, Alex Thompson, John Donnan, Alan O’Connor, Stephen Mulholland, Clive Ross, Conall Boomer, Nick Timoney, Matthew Rea.


Dave Shanahan, Angus Lloyd, Aaron Cairns, Andrew Magrath, Johnny McPhillips, Brett Herron, Sam Windsor, Mark Best, Rory Butler, Jacob Stockdale, David Busby, Conor Kelly, Robert Lyttle, Louis Ludik.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Heenan doubtful for start of Connacht’s season after gruesome hand injury

A first Olympic medal for Fiji and it’s gold after they hammer Britain in rugby sevens final

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: