Dublin: 26°C Thursday 11 August 2022

Leinster's Nacewa in line for two top honours

The New Zealander has been nominated for both IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year and Try of the Year.

Image: ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

THE NOMINATIONS FOR the 2011 Irish Rugby Players Association (IRUPA) Awards were announced yesterday with Leinster full-back Isa Nacewa leading the charge in two of the main categories.

The 28-year-old New Zealander has been included on the three-man shortlist for the Players’ Player of the Year Award as well as getting a nod in the Try of the Year category for his stunning solo effort against the Leicester Tigers in the Heineken Cup quarter-finals.

Nacewa is joined on the Player of the Year list by provincial teammate Sean O’Brien as well as Munster and Ireland international Keith Earls, both of whom impressed in their contributions to Ireland’s Six Nations campaign in the spring.

The other contenders for the Try of the Year gong are Connacht’s Fionn Carr for his score against the Llanelli Scarlets in the Magners League while Ulster’s Craig Gilroy has also made the cut after finishing off David Humphries’ magnificent chip-and-chase against Cardiff in February.

Willie Faloon of Ulster, Munster’s Wian du Preez and Leinster hooker Richardt Strauss will go head-to-head for the Unsung Hero of the Year award while Conor Murray, Nevin Spence and Rhys Ruddock are the final three names in contention for Young Player of the Year.

The public will have an opportunity to have their say on two of the prizes which will be presented at the awards dinner on May 4. Votes for the 2011 Supporters’ Player of the Year will be gathered via Newstalk while the Rugby Moment of the Year will be voted for via O2′s Facebook page here.

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: