Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Thursday 6 May 2021

Ruthless Limerick fire five goals as they power into All-Ireland SHC quarter-final

The Treaty county cruised to a 24-point win over Carlow.

Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Limerick 5-22

Carlow 0-13

By Ciarán Gallagher at Netwatch Cullen Park

LIMERICK ARE THROUGH to the All-Ireland SHC quarter-final after a ruthless preliminary round win over Carlow at Netwatch Cullen Park.

First-half goals from Kyle Hayes, Graeme Mulcahy and Aaron Gillane helped Limerick to a 3-9 to 0-4 half-time lead, having hit 2-7 without reply over the course of a 17-minute spell.

Diarmuid Byrnes and substitute Peter Casey raised green flags after the break to help the visitors to a 24-point victory.

It took less than a minute for Limerick to find the net, with Hayes firing home from an O’Donoghue pass. However, Carrlow responded well, hitting the next two scores via free-taker Denis Murphy and Edward Byrne.

While 14 points separated the sides at half-time, the scoreboard did not tell the full story of a competitive first quarter. Besides Limerick’s later display of firepower, Carlow were first derailed by their own wayward shooting as they notched up five wides in just over 10 minutes.

The last of those mis-hits came from John Michael Nolan when Carlow trailed by just a goal, 0-2 to 1-2. From there, Limerick took control as Gearóid Hegarty’s 15-minute point kick-started their run of 2-7 without reply.

Diarmuid Byrnes celebrates scoring his sides fourth goal Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Carlow’s shooting woes continued and their frustrations boiled over as James Doyle, Jack Kavanagh and Diarmuid Byrne picked up bookings before the break. Murphy’s free on the stroke of half-time ended their 20-minute wait for a score.

While Lynch resumed the scoring in the second half, Carlow kept valiantly battling away. But Limerick were not done raising green flags with Byrnes flying their fourth on 55 minutes from a Barry Nash pass.

Substitute Casey, who racked up 1-3 from the bench, then hit a fifth Treaty goal on 61 minutes as the visitors eased to victory.

Scorers for Limerick: A Gillane 1-6 (2f), G Mulcahy 1-1, K Hayes 1-0, D Byrnes 1-1 (1’65), G Hegarty 0-2, T Morrissey 0-5, C Lynch 0-1, P Casey 1-3, S Flanagan 0-1, D O’Donovan 0-1, B Nash 0-1.

Scorers for Carlow: D Murphy 0-4 (3f, 1’ 65), E Byrne 0-1, JM Nolan 0-2, J Kavanagh 0-1, C Nolan 0-1, S Murphy 0-1, D Byrne 0-1f, P Abbey 0-2.


1) Brian Tracey (Naomh Eoin)

22) Richard Kelly (Mount Leinster Rangers)
3) Paul Doyle (St Mullin’s)
4) Michael Doyle (Mount Leinster Rangers)

5) Kevin McDonald (Mount Leinster Rangers)
6) David English (Ballinkillen)
7) Richard Coady (joint-captain, Mount Leinster Rangers)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

8) Jack Kavanagh (St Mullin’s)
9) Diarmuid Byrne (joint-captain, Mount Leinster Rangers)

10) John M Nolan (Naomh Eoin)
11) Paul Coady (Mount Leinster Rangers)
12) Edward Byrne (Mount Leinster Rangers)

13) James Doyle (St Mullin’s)
14) Denis Murphy (Mount Leinster Rangers)
15) Chris Nolan (Mount Leinster Rangers)


24) Séamus Murphy (St Mullin’s) for D Murphy (48)
18) Conor Foley (Naomh Eoin) for P Coady (54)
23) R Smithers (Naomh Eoin) for C Nolan (54)
19) E Redmond (Naomh Eoin) for M Doyle (58)
21) P Abbey (Naomh Eoin) for E Byrne (64)


1) Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2) Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
3) Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4) Richie English (Doon)

5) Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
6) Declan Hannon (captain, Adare)
7) Dan Morrissey (Ahane)

8) William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)
9) Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

10) Gearóid Hegarty (St Patick’s)
11) Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
12) Tom Morrissey (Ahane)

13) Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
14) Séamus Flanagan (Feohanagh)
15) Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)


17) Peter Casey (N Piarsaigh) for Mulcahy (HT)
21) Barry Nash (South Liberties) for K Hayes (HT)
23) Darragh O’Donovan (Doon) for C Lynch (46)
19) Seán Finn (Bruff) for R English (53)
20) Séamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher) for D Hannon (59)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Super 8s or nowhere! Awesome Kildare steamroll Fermanagh by 11 points to advance

All-Ireland champions Cork ease past Tipp to continue winning run to the semi-finals

About the author:

Ciarán Gallagher

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel