Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Tuesday 24 November 2020

Limerick make full-back line changes and Clare bring in two championship newcomers

The counties meet tomorrow in Semple Stadium.

Limerick manager John Kiely.
Limerick manager John Kiely.
Image: Keith Wiseman/INPHO

Updated Oct 24th 2020, 2:50 PM

LIMERICK HAVE SHAKEN up their full-back line and Clare have handed out a couple of senior championship debuts before tomorrow’s Munster hurling oepner.

John Kiely has retained 13 of the side that started against Kilkenny in last year’s All-Ireland semi-final loss to Kilkenny.

The two players to lose out are injured full-back line duo Mike Casey and Richie English, with Barry Nash and Paddy O’Loughlin introduced to the side.

O’Loughlin takes up the wing-back position as Dan Morrissey moves to the edge of the square. Nash, traditionally a forward before making a switch to wing-back under Kiely, is named to start in the corner.

Clare have handed out first senior starts in championship to goalkeeper Eibhear Quilligan and corner-back Stephen O’Halloran. David Reidy returns to championship action after opting out in 2019 while Aron Shanagher and Aaron Cunningham are amongst the substitutes.

Manager Brian Lohan is without some big names like John Conlon and Colm Galvin for a game that throws in at 3.45pm tomorrow.

Meanwhile, the Laois team searching for consecutive championship victories against Dublin when they play them tonight, features three debutants.

Eddie Brennan includes Ronan Broderick, Fiachra Fennell and James Keyes in the team as Laois show seven changes in total from the side that completed a famous win over Dublin in 2019.


1. Nicky Quaid (Effin)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
4. Barry Nash (South Liberties)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
6. Declan Hannon (Adare) Captain
7. Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock)

8. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
9. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)
11. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)

13. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)
14. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)


1. Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

2. Jack Browne (Ballyea)
3. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown)
4. Stephen O’Halloran (Clarecastle)

5. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
6. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber)
7. Aidan McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)

8. David McInerney (Tulla – captain)
9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

10. Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe)
11. David Reidy (Éire Óg)
12. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)

13. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin)
14. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
15. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)


1. Enda Rowland

2. Lee Cleere
3. Sean Downey
4. Donnchadh Hartnett

5. Ronan Broderick
6. Padraig Delaney
7. Ryan Mullaney

8. Fiachra C Fennell
9. Patrick Purcell

10. Aaron Dunphy
11. Willie Dunphy
12. James Ryan

13. James Keyes
14. Ross King
15. Stephen Maher 

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel