This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Monday 21 October, 2019

Sexton, Best and Henderson start the Lions' first game of 2017 tour

Warren Gatland’s men face the New Zealand Provincial Barbarians on Saturday.

Murray Kinsella reports from Auckland

IRELAND INTERNATIONALS Jonny Sexton, Rory Best and Iain Henderson have been named in Warren Gatland’s Lions team for their tour opener against the New Zealand Provincial Barbarians on Saturday [KO 8.35am Irish time, Sky Sports].

Jonathan Sexton Sexton starts at 10. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Tadhg Furlong and Jared Payne will be on the bench for the clash at Toll Stadium in Whangerai.

Gatland has named a strong team for the first game of this year’s tour, after the Lions arrived in New Zealand yesterday.

Best is in the front row with Englishmen Joe Marler and Kyle Sinckler, while Henderson partners Wales’ Alun Wyn Jones in the second row. Captain Sam Warburton is in the seven shirt, with Ross Moriarty at blindside and Taulupe Faletau completing on all-Welsh back row.

Scotland’s Greig Laidlaw partners Sexton in the halfbacks, while Ben Te’o and Jonathan Joseph of England get first crack at the midfield spots and Tommy Seymour, Anthony Watson and Stuart Hogg make up an exciting back three.

Joining Furlong and Payne on the bench are Jamie George, Mako Vunipola, George Kruis, Justin Tipuric, Rhys Webb and England’s Owen Farrell.

Lions (v NZ Provincial Barbarians):

15. Stuart Hogg
14. Anthony Watson
13. Jonathan Joseph
12. Ben Te’o
11. Tommy Seymour
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Greig Laidlaw

1. Joe Marler
2. Rory Best
3. Kyle Sinckler
4. Alun Wyn Jones
5. Iain Henderson
6. Ross Moriarty
7. Sam Warburton
8. Taulupe Faletau


16. Jamie George
17. Mako Vunipola
18. Tadhg Furlong
19. George Kruis
20. Justin Tipuric
21. Rhys Webb
22. Owen Farrell
23. Jared Payne

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

This Barbarians XV doesn’t look likely to go easy on Ulster for Pienaar’s farewell

Ireland lose World Rugby U20 Championships opener to Italy

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: