This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 20 February, 2019


2,018 Views 3 Comments

Send us your thoughts and comments on this evening’s action. E-mail, tweet us@thescore_ie, find us on Facebook, or leave a comment below.

A text into the office – ‘The Hill have started singing, Artane band are out. Getting nervous now!!’

It’s seemingly going to take more than a drop of rain to dampen the spirits of the Dublin and Tyrone support. Welcome to our live coverage, teams to follow…

Dublin: Stephen Cluxton; Michael Fitzsimons, Rory O’Carroll, Cian O’Sullivan; James McCarthy, Ger Brennan, Kevin Nolan; Denis Bastick, Michael Dara McAuley; Paul Flynn, Alan Brogan, Bryan Cullen; Barry Cahill, Diarmuid Connolly, Bernard Brogan.

Tyrone: Pascal McConnell; Martin Swift, Joe McMahon, Justin McMahon; Sean O’Neill, Conor Gormley, Philip Jordan; Kevin Hughes, Sean Cavanagh; Colm Cavanagh, Brian McGuigan, Peter Harte; Martin Penrose, Mark Donnelly, Owen Mulligan.

An anticipated crowd of 70,000 at Headquarters for this quarter-final clash.

The ball has been thrown-in, the prize of a clash with Donegal awaits.

The first point of the game goes to Tyrone!

Pascal McConnell pulls off a brilliant save from Bernard Brogan, before Stephen Cluxton – joint third of Dublin’s points scorers in this year’s Championship – brings Pat Gilroy’s side level. Dublin 0-01 Tyrone 0-01.

Sean Cavanagh gets his first point in the match to put Tyrone back in the lead. Tyrone 0-02 Dublin 0-1.

Diarmuid Connolly puts it over the bar with a little bit of help from the post. Close so far, the teams are level Dublin 0-02 Tyrone 0-02.

Alan Brogan gets a fantastic point for Dublin, making the best of a fine kick-out from Cluxton. The Leinster champions 0-03 Tyrone 0-02.

The Hill like this as Connolly slips his marker to turn on a sixpence and make it Dublin 0-04 Tyrone 0-02.

Connolly is given far too much room by Justin McMahon and secures his third point of the day. A change could be in the offing. Dublin 0-05 Tyrone 0-02.

Yet another score by Dublin’s full forward Connolly! Dublin 0-06 Tyrone 0-2.

Tyrone grab a point back to make it 0-06 to 0-03, but they really have struggled to get into this game. Dublin are dominating the midfield.

With 20 minutes gone, Bernard Brogan grabs his first point of the game to make it Dublin 0-07 Tyrone 0-03.

The Dubs are running away with it now – leading by 0-09 to 0-03.

Mark Donnelly points for Tyrone as Mickey Harte’s men look to make a game of it – Dublin 0-09 Tyrone 0-4.

Is the momentum shifting? Tyrone make it two on the bounce to make it 0-09 to 0-05.

St Vincents man Connolly is just in superb form. He’s just landed his fifth point from open play, all with his left boot – Dublin 0-10 Tyrone 0-05.

Dublin have made it 0-11 to 0-05, with Bernard Brogan bagging his second score of the game. Or was it Alan? Need to get these glasses checked.

Sean Cavanagh grabs a free for Tyrone – 0-11 to 0-06. The first half ends. Superb from Dublin and particularly from their full forward Diarmuid Connolly.

Tyrone arrive out late for the second half – hairdryer treatment? It’s back on…

Connolly can do no wrong, and this time he scores with his right boot to make it 0-12 to 0-06.

Denis Bastick isn’t normally known for his kicking skills but that was a hell of a point, and it’s followed up by an effort from Paul Flynn. Exhibition stuff – all but one of Dublin’s points have come from open play. Dublin 0-14 Tyrone 0-06.

After the Dubs make 0-15 to 0-06, Bernard Brogan is just inches away from scoring but drags his shot across goal! Meanwhile, Dooher pulls one back. Dublin 0-15 Tyrone 0-07.

We can barely keep up! This time Alan Brogan is inches away from scoring the game’s first goal, not that Dublin need it.

Paul Flynn has a chance to shoot for goal but he chooses the safer option for his second score of the game – Dublin 0-16 Tyrone 0-07.

Make that Dublin 0-17 Tyrone 0-08 – Connolly scores again as his effort goes in off the crossbar. Seven points for the forward.

“Tyrone may be struggling but they certainly haven’t given up.” – Martin Penrose slots over from an angle to reduce the arrears to eight points, then it’s the turn of Stephen O’Neill. Dublin 0-17 Tyrone 0-10.

Barry Cahill’s first point in this quarter-final, fed by Connolly – Dublin 0-18 Tyrone 0-10.

Somewhere, somehow, we missed one for the Dubs before Penrose points again – Dublin 0-19 Tyrone 0-11.

Ross O’Connell is on for Michael Dara McAuley. Stephen Cluxton is down injured after clearing Tyrone’s only real goal chance of the game.

Cluxton is fine and he’s just scored his second point of the game from a free. Incidentally, how is he still just 29-years-old? It’s Dublin 0-20 Tyrone 0-11. Before we hit publish, Penrose grabs his fourth point – it’s 0-20 to 0-12.

Will Bernard Brogan be named Footballer Of The Year for two years in a row? He should be on this performance. His fifth point of the match before another is added. Then O’Neill points for Tyrone. Dublin 0-22 Tyrone 0-13.

Tyrone haven’t given and they’re just about alive – another point by Sean Cavanagh. It’s quickly followed by another from Enda McGinley. Dublin 0-22 Tyrone 0-15.

The Red Hand have put in a fine effort but they look tired. Dublin, on the other hand, won’t be far from Sam if they keep playing like this.

Eamon Fennell hits the post and it’s the end of the journey for Tyrone – the match has ended. Dublin were imperious, particularly Diarmuid Connolly. Pat Gilroy’s men will look back on this performance with pride as The Hill rejoice, and the Leinster champions march on to face Donegal. That’s it from us, it has been a pleasure.

Final score – Dublin 0-22 Tyrone 0-15.

About the author: