This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2019

Marcell Coetzee set for Ulster return as Cooney and Deysel start after inter-pro switch

The northern province take on Northampton in their final pre-season match tomorrow night.

Image: Presseye/Darren Kidd/INPHO

POWERFUL SPRINGBOK BACK row Marcell Coetzee is among an extended Ulster bench for tomorrow’s Pro14 warm-up away to Northampton.

The 26-year-old managed to play just four times for Ulster last season, recovering from an ACL injury only to be struck down by a recurrence within a month of his debut.

Coetzee’s compatriot Jean Deysel will start at number eight in Franklin’s Gardens and his fellow summer recruit John Cooney wears the Ulster jersey for the first time as he starts as Peter Nelson’s half-back partner.

Charles Piutau, who will leave the province at the end of the season, starts at fullback with Tommy Bowe and Stuart McCloskey in midfield.

The Saints will start with England captain Dylan Hartley in the front row while Test Lion Courtney Lawes is among the home side’s replacements.


15. Charles Piutau
14. Louis Ludik
13. Tommy Bowe
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. David Busby
10. Peter Nelson
9. John Cooney

1. Callum Black
2. Rob Herring
3. Wiehahn Herbst
4. Robbie Diack
5. Alan O’Connor
6. Clive Ross
7. Chris Henry
8. Jean Deysel

Replacements (numbers not specified): Zack McCall, Kyle McCall, Rodney Ah You, Peter Browne, Marcell Coetzee, David Shanahan, Brett Herron, Andrew Trimble, Andy Warwick, Jonny Simpson, Matthew Rea, Nick Timoney, Caleb Montgomery, Paul Marshall, Jack Owens, Johnny McPhillips, Callum Patterson.

Northampton Saints

15 Ahsee Tuala
14 Ben Foden
13 Luther Burrell
12 Rory Hutchinson
11 Tom Collins
10 Harry Mallinder
9 Nic Groom

1 Alex Waller
2 Dylan Hartley
3 Kieran Brookes
4 David Ribbans
5 Christian Day
6 Teimana Harrison
7 Lewis Ludlam
8 Mitch Eadie

Replacements (numbers not specified): Campese Ma’afu, Mikey Haywood, Paul Hill, Courtney Lawes, James Craig, Jamie Gibson, Sam Dickinson, Ben Nutley, Alex Mitchell, James Grayson, Ken Pisi, Tom Stephenson, Nafi Tuitavake, Jamie Elliott, George Furbank, Juan Pablo Estelles

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Former Ireland back row Joy Neville named to referee World Cup final

Jono Gibbes instills ‘fear factor’ in Ulster squad but fun key for Henderson’s game

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel