Mark Webber overtakes Alonso to win British Grand Prix

The Australian took his second Silverstone win in three years, and became only the second repeat winner of the season.

MARK WEBBER OVERTOOK polesitter and long-time leader Fernando Alonso in the closing stages to win the British Grand Prix on Sunday.

The Australian’s Red Bull teammate Sebastian Vettel took third, with Alonso’s fellow Ferrari driver Felipe Massa in fourth.

Webber, who set off alongside Alonso on the front row, won at Silverstone for the second time in three years and he became the second repeat winner of an unpredictable season.

This was Red Bull’s third win at Silverstone in the past four years.

“Great day for us and a great day for me,” he said over the team radio.

Alonso maintained the lead in the drivers standings.

Webber’s winning time was one hour, 25 minutes and 11.288 seconds in front of a capacity Silverstone crowd of 120,000 spectators who had braved torrential rain for most of the weekend.

Alonso’s second place, having led until the closing stages, enabled him to stay on top of the drivers’ title race with 129 points ahead of Webber on 116.

Felipe Massa finished fourth in the second Ferrari ahead of his former Ferrari team-mate Kimi Raikkonen and his Lotus team-mate Romain Grosjean.

Seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher of Mercedes finished seventh ahead of home favourite Lewis Hamilton who produced some spectacular racing on his way to eighth for McLaren.

Bruno Senna finished ninth for Williams and Jenson Button was 10th in the second McLaren.

Results from the British Grand Prix here on Sunday:

1. Mark Webber (AUS/Red Bull Racing) 1hr 25min 11.288sec

2. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Scuderia Ferrari) at 3.060

3. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull Racing) 4.836

4. Felipe Massa (BRA/Scuderia Ferrari) 9.519

5. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Lotus) 10.314

6. Romain Grosjean (FRA/Lotus) 17.101

7. Michael Schumacher (GER/Mercedes AMG) 29.153

8. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/McLaren Mercedes) 36.463

9. Bruno Senna (BRA/Williams) 43.347

10. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren Mercedes) 44.444

11. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN/Sauber) 45.370

12. Nico Hülkenberg (GER/Force India) 47.856

13. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Scuderia Toro Rosso) 51.241

14. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/Scuderia Toro Rosso) 53.313

15. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes AMG) 57.394

16. Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Williams) 1 lap

17. Heikki Kovalainen (FIN/Caterham) 1 lap

18. Timo Glock (GER/Marussia) 1 lap

19. Charles Pic (FRA/Marussia) 1 lap

20. Pedro de la Rosa (ESP/HRT) 2 laps

21. Narain Karthikeyan (IND/HRT) 2 laps