Darragh Doherty scores his side's first goal despite the attention of David Neary of Roscommon INPHO/James Crombie

Mayo prove strong for Roscommon in Connacht Minor decider

Darragh Doherty’s goal after six minutes was to prove key.

Mayo 3-7

Roscommon 1-10

MAYO CLAIMED THEIR 38th Connacht minor title by defeating Roscommon at Castlebar.

Ultimately Mayo’s greater attacking punch meant that Roscommon weren’t able to earn a three in a row at this level out west.

Mayo had hinted at their goalscoring ability when hitting five in the provincial semi-final against Galway and they were quickly out of the blocks again.

Enda Gilvarry’s promising team rattled the Roscommon net twice in the opening nine minutes to confirm their attacking potential.

Sean Conlon’s sixth minute pass allowed Darragh Doherty slam a gorgeous goal, but it was bettered then by a Liam Irwin strike moments later.

The match had ticked into the ninth minute when Irwin sold a couple of outrageous dummies before rifling a blistering shot past Roscommon custodian Shane Mannion.

Val Roughneen subsequently kicked a free and Mayo led by 2-1 to 0-0 even though Roscommon had been crafting chances at the opposite end.

Ros, though, did enjoy a productive burst with Diarmuid McGann a potent attacking threat and the deficit was trimmed down to 2-2 to 0-5.

But Mayo finished the first half strongly as an Irwin free and a delightful Tommy Conroy effort had them 2-4 to 0-5 in front at the interval.

After the restart the match followed a similar pattern with Roscommon making opportunities without taking enough of them following a 33rd minute Conor Loftus goal.

Trailing by 3-6 to 0-7 Roscommon did rally in the closing stages as substitute Senan Farrell, Cathal Compton, and Ronan Daly struck points.

Then the impressive Diarmuid Murtagh converted a penalty with four minutes remaining to leave two points in it, but Mayo were composed as Irwin was ice cool with a late pressure free which sealed the deal.

Scorers for Mayo: Liam Irwin 1-3 (2fs), Conor Loftus 1-0, Darragh Doherty 1-0, Stephen Coen 0-1, Tommy Conroy 0-1, Stephen Burke 0-1, Val Roughneen 0-1 (f).
Scorers for Roscommon: Diarmuid Murtagh 1-3 (1-0 pen, 2fs), Diarmuid McGann 0-4 (2fs), Ronan Daly 0-1, Cathal Compton 0-1, Senan Farrell 0-1

Mayo: Mark Mulligan; Eddie Doran, Sean Conlon, David Kenny; Ronan Finn, Stephen Coen, Michael Hall; Val Roughneen, Diarmuid O’Connor; Conor Loftus, Stephen Burke, Cian Hanley; Darragh Doherty, Liam Irwin, Tommy Conroy.

Subs: Conor Byrne for Doherty (45 mins), Michael Plunkett for Roughneen (48 mins).

Roscommon: Shane Mannion; David Neary, Sean Mullooly, Martin Flannery; Ronan Daly, Evan McGrath, Shane Pettit; Cathal Compton, Tadhg O’Rourke; Niall Connaughton, Ultan Harney, Jack Earley; Eoin Fallon, Diarmuid McGann, Diarmuid Murtagh.

Subs: Henry Walsh for Connaughton (45 mins), Senan Farrell for Pettit (46 mins), John Gannon for Earley (49 mins), Michael Murtagh for McGrath (51 mins).

Referee: R McBrien (Leitrim)

LIVE: Mayo v London, Connacht senior football final

Wexford remain on course for four-in-a-row

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.