Keegan v O'Shea - Draw made as Mayo SFC reaches quarter-final stage

Westport will take on Breaffy in the stand-out tie of the last eight.

Updated Sep 11th 2018, 12:05 AM

EIGHT TEAMS REMAIN in the hunt for the Mayo SFC after the conclusion of the group stages at the weekend.

pjimage (1) James Horan (Westport), Barry Moran (Castlebar Mitchels), Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber) and Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)

Reigning champions Castlebar Mitchels enjoyed a 3-12 to 0-12 win over Andy Moran’s Ballaghaderreen yesterday to seal their place on top of Group 1, but both sides qualified for the last eight.

In Group 2, Garrymore and Moy Davitts advanced after beating Knockmore and Charlestown respectively. 

The James Horan managed Westport, who have Lee Keegan in their ranks, emerged victorious from their top-of-the-table Group 3 clash with Claremorris, winning by 1-13 to 2-8. Both sides are through to the quarter-finals.

And Group 4 saw Cillian O’Connor’s Ballintubber advance alongside a Breaffy outfit featuring Aidan and Conor O’Shea, with Seamus named on the bench. Ballintubber hammered Kiltane by 2-18 to 0-5 while Breaffy crushed Davitts by 0-17 to 0-5.

The quarter-final draw took place last night, throwing up the following pairings for this weekend:

  • Westport v Breaffy, Saturday 6pm
  • Ballintubber v Moy Davitts, Saturday 7.30pm
  • Castlebar Mitchels v Claremorris, Sunday 1pm
  • Garrymore v Ballaghaderreen, Sunday 2.30pm

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel