Tommy Conroy of Mayo celebrates scoring the first goal of the game with Padraig Prendergast. INPHO/Donall Farmer

Mayo end 28-year wait for All-Ireland minor football title

The Westerners overcame Tyrone in Croke Park this afternoon.

Mayo 2-13
Tyrone 1-13

MAYO ARE THE All-Ireland minor football champions after a three point win over Tyrone in Croke Park this afternoon.

Both sides seemed to struggle with confidence in the first half with Tyrone unable to establish any daylight between the teams despite dominating possession and scoring opportunities.

For their part, Mayo were kept in the game thanks to the free-taking of Liam Irwin and Tommy Conroy pounced just before half-time with a brilliantly taken goal to allow his team go in at the break with a one point lead, 1-4 to 0-6.

The Westerners started the second half in lightning fashion with four unanswered points before Darragh Doherty bagged his fourth goal of this year’s championship to put Mayo into a 2-08 to 0-6 lead.

However, the goal seemed to awaken the Red Hands from their slumber and they had four consecutive scores after Doherty had raised the green flag with Cathal McShane in particular causing havoc.

Despite getting to within three points of Mayo with nine minutes left, it looked as if the game was over when Conor Byrne and Tommy Conroy gave the Connacht champions a six point lead in injury time.

However, while a Conor McKenna goal gave Tyrone hope, they were unable to find the goal they needed to draw the game and so it was Mayo who lifted the Tom Markham Cup for the first time in 28 years.

Scorers for Mayo: Liam Irwin 0-4 (0-4 frees) Tommy Conroy 1-3, Conor Loftus 0-3 (0-1f) Darragh Doherty 1-2, Conor Lynch 0-1.

Scorers for Tyrone: Lee Brennan 0-4 (0-3f), Ruairi Nugent 0-2, David Mulgrew 0-1, Ruairi McGlone 0-1, Conor McKenna 1-2, Daire Gallagher 0-2 (0-1f), Cathal McShane 0-1.

Mayo: Mark Mulligan (Claremorris); Eddie Doran (Achill), Seamus Cunniffe (Ballaghaderreen), David Kenny (Aghamore); Michael Hall (Breaffy), Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore), Sean Conlon (Castlebar Mitchels); Val Roughneen (Balla), Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber); Conor Loftus (Crossmolina), Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber), Padraig Prendergast (Louisburgh); Darragh Doherty (Kilmaine), Liam Irwin (Breaffy), Tommy Conroy (Kiltane).
Tyrone: Sean Fox (Ceapach); Colm Byrne (An Eaglais), Rhys Quinn (Cluain Eo), Cillian McCann (Fionntamhnach); Shea Hamill (Domhnach Mor), Christopher Morris (Gallbhaile), Padraig McGirr (Aireagal Chiarain), Ronan Nugent (Gallbhaile), Frank Burns (Cabhan a’Chaotainn), David Mulgrew (Ard Bo), Conor McKenna (An Eaglais), Ruairi McGlone (Achadh Lu), Lee Brennan (Tri Leac) Daire Gallagher  (Tri Leac), Stephen McGrath (Doire Lochain).

LIVE: Tyrone v Mayo, All-Ireland MFC final

Man United star Darren Fletcher is backing Mayo at the All-Ireland final today

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.