Monday 6 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
Dan Sheridan/INPHO Murray has been central to Munster's best performances this season.
# honoured
Murray scoops Munster Player of the Year award at Cork ceremony
Meanwhile, JJ Hanrahan was selected as the province’s leading young player of the season.

CONOR MURRAY HAS been named Munster’s Player of the Year at the province’s awards ceremony in Cork this afternoon.

The 25-year-old has started 11 games for Rob Penney’s side this season, including seven Heineken Cup games, demonstrating his importance with a string of composed, physical performances.

Murray returned from last summer’s Lions tour with his confidence greatly boosted, and Munster have asked him to take more playmaking and tactical control during this campaign. The Limerick man has responded to the challenge in typically laid-back fashion, helping the side to a European semi-final.

21-year-old JJ Hanrahan has been named Young Player of the Year at the event in the Maryborough Hotel, after a season in which he has scored four tries in 11 starts. Ian Keatley was preferred at out-half for the biggest Heineken Cup clashes, but Hanrahan has shown his class whenever afforded the opportunity.

Meanwhile, 22-year-old back row Shane Buckley picked up the award for Munster Academy Player of the Year. The Garryowen man was a vital part of the province’s British and Irish Cup campaign, while also standing out at club level.

With Donal Lenihan MC-ing proceedings in Cork, Siobhan Fleming was named as the leading female player in Munster over the course of the season, while Shannon legend Brian O’Brien was inducted into the Hall of Fame after a career that saw him play and manage both Munster and Ireland.

Full list of winners at the 2014 Munster Rugby Awards:

  • Player of the Year: Conor Murray
  • Young Player of the Year: JJ Hanrahan
  • Women’s Player of the Year: Siobhan Fleming
  • Academy Player of the Year: Shane Buckley
  • Hall of Fame inductee: Brian O’Brien
  • Referee of the Year: Kieran Barry
  • Senior Club of the Year: Nenagh Ormond RFC
  • Junior Club of the Year: Clonmel RFC
  • School of the Year: Crescent College Comprehensive
  • Club Youth Section of the Year: Bantry Bay RFC
  • Club Mini section of the Year: Killorglin RFC

Two-week suspension means Tom Court may have played his last game for Ulster

One of their own: Connacht appoint ex-fullback Willie Ruane as new CEO

Your Voice
Readers Comments