This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 10 July, 2020

Munster hammer five tries past Zebre to get van Graan era off to winning start

Alex Wootton scored a brace of tries as part of a comfortable bonus-point victory in Parma.

Image: Giuseppe Fama/INPHO

Zebre 19

Munster 36

John Fallon reporting in Parma

MUNSTER MADE IT eleven wins from eleven against Zebre to get the Johann van Graan era off to a victorious start in Parma.

Van Graan just kept a watching brief as Felix Jones and Jerry Flannery ran the show in what turned out to be a routine win.

Munster looked to be coasting to victory against a second string Zebre side when they opened up a 17-0 lead after just 26 minutes.

Rory Scannell got in for the opening try after early dominance finally yielded a touchdown after 18 minutes, with JJ Hanrahan’s conversion making it 10-0 having earlier landed one of three penalties.

Scrum-half James Hart crowned his first start with try after temporary replacement Brian Scott snatched a lineout.

But then it unravelled for Munster when first Robin Copeland was binned and Zebre struck for their opening try when centre Giulio Bisegni scored after former Connacht full-back Ciaran Gaffney was stopped short.

And then when the impressive Sam Arnold was yellow-carded, Zebre used the space to go wide and send captain Jacopo Sarto over in the left corner for a try which was again converted by scrum-half Guglielmo Palazzani to leave it 17-14 to Munster at the break.

Munster took control again once they got back to 15 players and Alex Wootton wrapped up the game and a bonus point with two tries in a four-minute spell.

He got the first after 53 minutes in the right corner and then a superb long pass from Simon Zebo sent him over in the left corner for the clinching score.

Winger Gio Venditti pulled back a try for an understrength Zebre side in the closing stages but Munster finished on a high when Calvin Nash got in for their fifth try at the death.



Tries: G Bisegni, J Sarto, G Venditti.

Conversions : G Palazzani (2)


Tries: A Wootton (2), R Scannell, J Hart, C Nash.

Conversions : JJ Hanrahan (4).

Penalties: Hanrahan.

Zebre: Ciaran Gaffney; Pierre Bruno, Giulio Bisegni, Faialaga Afamasaga, Gio D’Onofrio; Maicol Azzolini, Guglielmo Palazzani; Cruze Ah-Nau, Luhandre Luus (Oliviero Fabiaini ’41), Eduardo Bello; James Tucker, Leonard Krumov; Jacopo Sarto, Johan Meyer, Derick Minnie (Maxime Mbanda ’43).

Munster: Simon Zebo (Bill Johnston ’76); Darren Sweetnam, Sam Arnold, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton (Calvin Nash ’67); JJ Hanrahan, James Hart (Jack Stafford ’76); Liam O’Connor (Brian Scott ’67), Rhys Marshall (Kevin O’Byrne ’63), Stephen Archer (Brian Scott ’21-’27, Ciaran Parker ‘78); Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Jack O’Donoghue, Chris Cloete, Robin Copeland.

Referee: Lloyd Linton (Scotland).

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Schmidt delivers on two fronts in November built on future promise

Garryowen climb to second, Cork Constitution pip St Mary’s

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

John Fallon

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel