This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 15 October, 2019

Munster Council upholds decision to introduce football seeding system

There was no U-turn at tonight’s emergency meeting in Limerick.

Limerick's Lorcan O'Dwyer and Rory Donnelly of Clare.
Limerick's Lorcan O'Dwyer and Rory Donnelly of Clare.
Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

THE MUNSTER COUNCIL tonight decided that they will be sticking with their new controversial seeding system for the 2014 senior football championship.

On 12 September, the Munster Controls Competition Committee (CCC) voted 6 to 3 in favour of recommending that Cork and Kerry would be seeded for next year’s provisional championship and, later that night, the Council accepted the recommendation.

Limerick had been one of the majority six counties but, after some of their players expressed their discontent, the county did a U-turn while players from Clare, Tipperary and Waterford also objected to the ruling.

At  the request of Clare, however, a special emergency meeting was held to discuss the matter in Limerick tonight and the new format was upheld.

“The Chairman Robert Frost ruled that the Munster Council has no jurisdiction to revisit the original decision taken on September 12th as this would be in breach of rule 3.31 (e) which states that alterations may be considered only on an annual basis,” a statement read.

“The Chairman referred to the alteration made at the September 12th meeting to change the format of the Championship from the 2013 structure.”

Davy Fitz names unchanged Clare side for All-Ireland hurling replay

Here’s your GAA coverage on TV and Radio this week

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next: