Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Friday 14 May 2021

Ulster welcome back Henderson in time for inter-pro face-off with O'Connell

There is more inter-provincial action on your TV screens tomorrow, rugby fans.

Image: v

MUNSTER COACH ROB Penney has made a dozen changes to the side that defeated Connacht last week.

Wing Ronan O’Mahony and stalwarts Donncha O’Callaghan and James Coughlan are the three retained in the starting XV to take on Ulster in Ravenhill tomorrow night (19.05).

Peter O’Mahony comes back in to captain the side in a back row that features Tommy O’Donnell at openside with CJ Stander again  restricted to an impact role off the bench.

Ian Keatley returns to take the reins at number 10, but a groin injury will keep JJ Hanrahan from taking up a seat on the bench. Johnny Holland deputises Keatley in the Kerryman’s place.

Keith Earls’ bruised shoulder means Andrew Conway and Casey Laulala are selected at wing and centre respectively. James Cronin has been rested after being given a clean bill of health after undergoing a scan on a knock to his lower back.

The hosts, meanwhile, have made six changes to the side which suffered a disappointing loss to Leinster last time out.

Five of the six additions are internationals; including Chris Henry and Iain Henderson who come back to bolster the pack alongside Tom Court and John Afoa.

Ruan Pienaar and Jared Payne, who featured off the bench at the RDS last week, will hope to get Ulster back to winning ways and close the 10-point gap between the sides on the Pro12 table.

Nick Williams is another big name returning from injury for Mark Anscombe’s side. However, he must wait for a call from the bench before taking on his former employer.

The teams in full.

Ulster: Jared Payne, Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Luke Marshall, Craig Gilroy, Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar: Tom Court, Rob Herring, John Afoa, Iain Henderson, Dan Tuohy, Robbie Diack (Captain), Chris Henry, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Niall Annett, Callum Black, Declan Fitzpatrick, Lewis Stevenson, Nick Williams, Sean Doyle, Paul Marshall, Mike Allen.

Munster: Felix Jones; Andrew Conway, Casey Laulala, Ivan Dineen, Ronan O’Mahony; Ian Keatley, Cathal Sheridan; Dave Kilcoyne, Damien Varley, Stephen Archer; Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell; Peter O’Mahony (Captain), Tommy O’Donnell, James Coughlan.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, John Ryan, BJ Botha, Dave Foley, CJ Stander, Duncan Williams, Johnny Holland, Johne Murphy.

Ronan O’Gara on getting dropped by Deccie, that crossfield kick and his Ireland exit

Ulster ‘Bulldozer’ Nick Williams backed to smash down Munster walls

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel