Dublin: 12°C Sunday 26 June 2022

Van Graan makes two changes as Ireland duo return to face Ospreys

The South African takes full control of the southern province for the first time tomorrow at Musgrave Park.

Johann van Graan Munster head coach Johann van Graan. Source: Giuseppe Fama/INPHO

JOHANN VAN GRAAN has named his Munster starting line-up for tomorrow evening’s Guinness Pro14 clash with Ospreys at Musgrave Park [KO 5.30pm, Sky Sports Action].

Van Graan was on the touchline in Italy for Sunday’s win over Zebre, but the meeting with the struggling Welsh side will mark his first game with full control of the southern province. Forwards coach Jerry Flannery and backs coach Felix Jones took the reins last weekend to allow for a smooth transition following the departure of Rassie Erasmus.

Van Graan has made two changes to the team that saw off Zebre. With out-half Ian Keatley and prop John Ryan returning from international duty with Ireland, both players have been included at the expense of JJ Hanrahan and Stephen Archer respectively.

Despite picking up a knee injury five days ago in Italy, Simon Zebo has been passed fit to start at full-back. Duncan Williams returns from injury but the scrum-half has to settle for a place on the bench, with James Hart retaining the number nine jersey.

Munster are in second place in Conference A with six wins from their nine games so far, with the Ospreys propping up the table following seven defeats already in this campaign.


15. Simon Zebo
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Sam Arnold
12. Rory Scannell
11. Alex Wootton
10. Ian Keatley
9. James Hart

1. Liam O’Connor
2. Rhys Marshall
3. John Ryan
4. Jean Kleyn
5. Billy Holland (captain)
6. Jack O’Donoghue
7. Chris Cloete
8. Robin Copeland


16. Kevin O’Byrne
17. Brian Scott
18. Stephen Archer
19. Darren O’Shea
20. Sean O’Connor
21. Duncan Williams
22. JJ Hanrahan
23. Calvin Nash

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member


15. Dan Evans
14. Hanno Dirksen
13. Kieron Fonotia
12. James Hook
11. Jeff Hassler
10. Sam Davies
9. Tom Habberfield

1. Gareth Thomas
2. Sam Parry
3. Dmitri Arhip
4. Lloyd Ashley
5. Bradley Davies (captain)
6. Olly Cracknell
7. Will Jones
8. James King


16. Scott Baldwin
17. Rowan Jenkins
18. Ma’afu Fia
19. Rob McCusker
20. Guy Mercer
21. Reuben Morgan-Williams
22. Luke Price
23. Joe Thomas

November gives Wootton irresistible scent of international rugby

‘The days I thought I wouldn’t play again, they were the toughest’

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel