This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 9 July, 2020

Munster run riot against hapless Zebre

Simon Zebo, playing at full-back, finished two excellent moves in the third quarter to secure the bonus point.

Munster’s Simon Zebo runs in for a try.
Munster’s Simon Zebo runs in for a try.
Image: Inpho/Billy Stickland

Munster 47
Zebre 0

SIMOZ ZEBO RACED through to score two cracking tries to secure a bonus point win as Munster got their Pro12 hopes back on track.

Zebo, playing at full-back, finished two excellent moves in the third quarter to secure the bonus point.

And when Munster continued to pile on the pressure in the second-half they went on to score their biggest ever win in the Pro12.

Munster dominated the opening half against the strong blustery wind and secured a 14-0 lead.

Zebre coughed up a dozen penalties in trying to keep Munster at bay and had two men binned in that opening half with lock Quintin Geldenhuys and winger Giulio Toniolatti picking up yellow cards.

Munster’s opening try after 12 minutes came from a penalty try following a good drive after a lineout take from Donnacha Ryan, with Johnny Holland adding the extras.

Holland, who battled back from a serious hamstring injury, was full of running in only his second start.

Holland also converted Munster’s second try with a superb kick from the left touchline.

The try came when Munster went wide from a scrum in front of the posts and Ronan O’Mahony finished off the move in style after quick ball through the hands of Tomas O’Leary, Johnny Holland Rory Scannell.

Zebo’s brace in the third quarter sealed the bonus point and they went into overdrive after that.

Conor Murray and CJ Stander both came off the bench to score tries — Murray even converted one — while they got a second penalty try in the closing minutes, with Zebre finishing with 14 men when replacement hooker Bruno Postiglioni was binned.


Tries: Penalty try (2), Ronan O’Mahony, Simon Zebo (2), CJ Stander, Conor Murray
Conversions: Johnny Holland (5), Conor Murray

Munster: Simon Zebo (Ian Keatley ’67); Darren Sweetnam, Keith Earls (David Johnston ’59), Rory Scannell, Ronan O’Mahony; Johnny Holland (Ian Keatley ’52-59), Tomas O’Leary (Conor Murray ’49); Dave Kilcoyne (James Cronin ’56), Niall Scannell (Mike Sherry ’56), Stephen Archer (Mario Sagario ’59); Donnacha Ryan (Dave Foley ’67), Billy Holland; Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Zebre: Kayle van Zyl (Andrea de Marchi ’73); Leonardo Sarto, Giulio Bisegni (Ulrich Beyers ’40), Tommaso Boni, Giulio Toniolatti (Matteo Pratichetti ’40); Kelly Haimona (Luke Burgess ’58), Guglielmo Palazzani; Guillermo Roan (Bruno Postiglioni ’60), Oliviero Fabiani, Dario Chistolini (Pietro Ceccarelli ’49); Quintin Geldenhuys, Valerio Bernabò (Gideon Koegelenberg ’40); Jean Cook, Federico Ruzza, Johan Meyer.

Referee: Dudley Phillips (Ireland)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Italian rugby player tests positive for 11 — yes, 11! — banned substances>

Mils Muliaina agrees move to USA’s new PRO Rugby championship>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

John Fallon

Read next: