Dublin: 7°C Wednesday 1 December 2021

Open thread: What Ireland team would you like Joe Schmidt to name for Wales?

Ireland’s World Cup warm-up schedule begins in Cardiff on Saturday.

JOE SCHMIDT NAMES his first Ireland team of the new season tomorrow afternoon at 13.45 in Carton House, ahead of Saturday’s World Cup warm-up clash against Wales at a sold-out Millennium Stadium (KO 14.30).

Paul O'Connell Would you have Paulie sit this one out? Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Warren Gatland has selected an experimental Welsh matchday 23 that mixes new caps Dominic Day, Ross Moriarty, Tyler Morgan and Eli Walker with more experienced faces like Mike Phillips, Richard Hibbard, James Hook and Justin Tipuric.

Schmidt is set to name a similar blend of his less experienced squad members and more senior members of the squad with points still to prove. Forwards coach Simon Easterby yesterday promised some “new combinations” and certain players who “won’t have been tested at this level before”.

With the excitement building for Ireland’s first game in the lead-up to the World Cup, let us know the names you’d like to hear Schmidt read out tomorrow afternoon, from 1 to 23.

Would you like to see as many inexperienced faces as possible get caps? Or is there a balance to be found between the younger players and proven leaders?

Kieran Marmion Should Connacht's Kieran Marmion get a shot? Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

With Cian Healy, Luke Fitzgerald, Sean Cronin and Marty Moore having been ruled out by Easterby, here are the remaining players in the extended Ireland training squad at present:


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Front rows: Rory Best, Richardt Strauss, Rob Herring, Jack McGrath, Dave Kilcoyne, Michael Bent, Mike Ross, Tadhg Furlong, Nathan White

Locks: Paul O’Connell, Devin Toner, Dan Tuohy, Dave Foley, Iain Henderson, Donnacha Ryan (both of the latter also cover blindside)

Back rows: Jamie Heaslip, Jordi Murphy, Sean O’Brien, Chris Henry, Peter O’Mahony, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack Conan

Halfbacks: Conor Murray, Eoin Reddan, Isaac Boss, Kieran Marmion, Johnny Sexton, Paddy Jackson, Ian Madigan

Centres: Robbie Henshaw, Jared Payne, Gordon D’Arcy, Noel Reid, Darren Cave

Back threes: Rob Kearney, Felix Jones, Tommy Bowe, Andrew Trimble, Simon Zebo, Dave Kearney, Fergus McFadden, Craig Gilroy, Keith Earls (covers centre too).

Four changes to Springboks’ starting XV as captain Jean de Villiers returns

‘It’s like the dinosaurs’: Bastareaud hoping test career doesn’t become extinct

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: