Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Tuesday 18 May 2021

Waterford champions Passage knocked out as Dungarvan and De La Salle reach semi-finals

Two semi-finals spots are now known in Waterford.

Eoin Kelly (file photo) was in action
Eoin Kelly (file photo) was in action
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

REIGNING CHAMPIONS PASSAGE were knocked out of the Waterford senior hurling championship at the quarter-final stage last night.

Passage lost out to 2012 finalists Dungarvan by 4-10 to 2-14 after a weekend that also saw De La Salle – the 2008, 2010 and 2012 champions – beat Tallow in Friday night’s quarter-final tie by 1-16 to 2-9.

Early goals set Dungarvan on their way as Patrick Curran, Ryan Donnelly and Cathal Curran all found the net to help them lead 3-5 to 1-6 at the interval with Thomas Connors striking a goal for Passage.

A fourth Dungarvan goal from Gavin Crotty pushed them 4-10 to 1-11 clear with ten minutes remaining. Passage mounted a late rally with Connors netting again but Dungarvan hung on for a two-point win.

On Friday night, De La Salle prevailed against Tallow by four points. The winners were in front narrowly at the break by 0-10 to 1-6 with Paul O’Brien scoring Tallow’s goal. A John Keane second-half goal helped De La Salle pull clear and despite Thomas Ryan scoring a second goal for Tallow, De La Salle claimed victory.

Waterford SHC quarter-finals
Dungarvan 4-10 Passage 2-14
De La Salle 1-16 Tallow 2-9

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Sunday September 14th
Waterford SHC quarter-finals
Abbeyside v Mount Sion, Walsh Park, 2pm
Ballygunner v Lismore, Walsh Park, 3.30pm

Limerick’s Cian Lynch on Hawkeye, haircuts, uncle Ciaran Carey and soccer trials

Sarsfields and Douglas book Cork semi-final places

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: