Dublin: 12°C Wednesday 29 June 2022

Kerrigan and O'Halloran return as Cork make 4 changes for McGrath Cup semi-final

Cork face UL next Sunday afternoon in Mallow.

Cork's Paul Kerrigan will start next Sunday against UL.
Cork's Paul Kerrigan will start next Sunday against UL.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

PAUL KERRIGAN AND Ken O’Halloran return to the Cork starting line-up for next Sunday’s McGrath Cup semi-final against UL.

The established duo did not start in last Sunday’s seasonal opener against Limerick IT although O’Halloran did come on at half-time in goal.

He will start between the posts on Sunday while manager Brian Cuthbert has named Kerrigan at wing-forward.

Tomás Clancy, who started games in last year’s Munster championship, will start at full-back while Micheál Ó Laoire, a Munster U21 winner in 2011, comes into the team at midfield.

Positional changes see Fintan Goold start at centre-back while Andrew O’Sullivan moves to midfield.

Eoin Cadogan is away on study leave, Aidan Walsh is on holidays, Alan Sheehan is ruled out through injury while goalkeeper Ryan Price will be on the bench.

CORK: Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown); John McLoughlin (Kanturk), Tomás Clancy (Fermoy), Noel Galvin (Ballincollig); James Loughrey (Mallow), Fintan Goold (Macroom), Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCárthaigh); Micheál Ó Laoire (Naomh Abán), Andrew O’Sullivan (Castletownbere); Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), Mark Sugrue (Bandon), Colm O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCárthaigh); Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg), Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond), John Hayes (Carbery Rangers).

Subs: Ryan Price (O’Donovan Rossa), Colin Lyons (St Finbarr’s), Sean Murphy (Ballydesmond), Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers), Kevin Crowley (Millstreet), Killian O’Connor (Mallow).

Cork, Kerry, CIT and UL claim victories in McGrath Cup quarter-finals

Dublin make five changes for O’Byrne Cup meeting with Louth

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: