This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 2 April, 2020

Portlaoise complete 7-in-a-row after Laois senior football final

There was a familiar sight in O’Moore Park today.

Portlaoise's Brian McCormack lifts the trophy.
Portlaoise's Brian McCormack lifts the trophy.
Image: INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Portlaoise 2-8
Arles-Killeen 1-8

PORTLAOISE LIFTED THE Laois senior football trophy for the seventh successive year in O’Moore Park this afternoon.

Substitute Kevin Fitzpatrick’s second-half goal was the crucial score as Portlaoise came from behind to snatch a three-point success over an Arles-Killeen side who were chasing their first ever title.

AFL star Zach Tuohy,who played for Ireland on Saturday night against Australia, came off the bench to help Portlaoise triumph and advance to the Leinster club championship.

Portlaoise had trailed by 1-6 to 1-3 at the interval despite grabbing an early goal when Craig Rogers fired home a penalty.

Arles-Killeen then took over with Paul Kingston, who hit 1-3 in the opening period, and Donie Brennan both wreaking havoc.

Portaloise bounced back in the second-half with Paul Cahillane pulling the strings for them in attack and Fitzpatricks’ goal put them ahead by 2-5 to 1-7.

Captain Brian McCormack hit over a brace of points and Craig Rogers added another to stretch Portlaoise’s advantage to four points.

Donie Kingston cut the gap to three with a late point for Arles-Killeen but time ran out on their challenge as Portlaoise held on to secure success.


Portlaoise Manager Mick Lillis and Zach Tuohy celebrate after the game.
Pic: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Michael Murphy powers Glenswilly to Donegal county final win

Summerhill beat Na Fianna to win second Meath title in three seasons

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: