Dublin: 17°C Tuesday 27 July 2021

Dreams of a Connacht U21 three-in-a-row still alive for the Rossies

They were ran close by rivals Galway, who finished with thirteen players in the EirGrid quarter-final clash.

Roscommon 1-16

Galway 2-10

John Fallon reports from Kiltoom

ROSCOMMON’S GLORIOUS SPRING continued as their U-21 team got their bid for a first ever Connacht three-in-a-row off to a successful start in an exciting EirGrid quarter-final.

But Roscommon were pushed all the way by a Galway side who finished with just 13 men after having one player sent off for two yellow cards and another black-carded when they had used all six subs.

Ultan Harney celebrates scoring Roscommon were without Ultan Harney due to injury but it mattered little. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Roscommon, even without injured senior player Ultan Harney, never trailed and will now go on to meet Sligo next weekend in the semi-final.

Roscommon led by double scores at half-time when they opened up a 1-7 to 0-5 lead.

The key moment came after 12 minutes when Brian Kelly was fouled by Michael Daly and Diarmuid Murtagh stepped forward to blast the ball into the roof of the net.

Murtagh, playing his first match of the year after recovering from a leg injury, was prominent from the outset, kicking the opening score and constantly showing for ball.

Galway recovered well and while they struggled to win primary possession around the middle of the field, they chipped away at the lead with Eamon Brannigan and Paul Mannion pointed and Peter Cooke kicked his second of the match.

Diarmuid Murtagh Diarmuid Murtagh tucked away a penalty for the Rossies. Source: ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Cathal Compton, Cathal Callinan and Fergal Lennon found the range as Roscommon opened up a 1-4 to 0-4 lead before a row involving a large number of players resulted in bookings for Galway’s Kieran Molloy and Daly, along with Compton of Roscommon.

That resulted in Daly, a son of former Galway star and Roscommon manager Val Daly, being sent off as he had been booked when conceding the penalty.

Galway’s task deepened when Callinan kicked two points before Galway skipper Enda Tierney and Roscommon’s Jack Connaughton exchanged points to leave it 1-7 to 0-5 at the interval.

Half-time sub Joseph Donnellan gave the Tribesmen hope less than a minute after the restart when he blasted home after fielding a high ball.

But Roscommon used their extra man well and Murtagh, Callinan and Hubert Darcy increased their lead but while Cormac McWalter and Cooke managed points for Galway, the reigning Connacht champions were always able to keep more than a goal between them.

Roscommon led by six points when Galway, having already brought on six subs, were reduced to 13 men for the closing 12 minutes when goalscorer Donnellan picked up a black card.

But they didn’t give up and Roscommon endured a nervous finish when Galway corner-back Ruairi Greene found the net with a low shot two minutes from time.

Cooke reduced the margin to a goal but Roscommon held on in an exciting finish.

Scorers for Roscommon: D Murtagh 1-2 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), C Callinan 0-4, H Darcy 0-2, C Compton 0-2, F Lennon 0-2, J Connaughton 0-1, K Farrell 0-1, H Walsh 0-1 (f), A Lyons 0-1.

Scorers for Galway: P Cooke 0-5 (2f, 2 ’45), J Donnellan 1-0, R Greene 1-0, E Brannigan 0-2, E Tierney 0-1, P Mannion 0-1 (f), C McWalter 0-1.


1. Shane Mannion (St Brigid’s)

2. Jack Connnaughton (Clann na nGael)
3. Sean Mullolly (Strokestown)
4. Fergal Lennon (Clann na nGael)

5. Ronan Daly (Padraig Pearses)
6. Evan McGrath (Boyle)
7. Brian Stack (St Brigid’s)

8. Tadhg O’Rourke (Tulsk)
9. Cathal Compton (Strokestown)

10. Kevin Farrell (St Faithleach’s)
11. Henry Walsh (Kilbride)
12. Brian Kelly (Roscommon Gaels)

13. Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
14. Hubert Darcy (Padraig Pearses)
15. Cathal Callinan (Clann na nGael)


17. Keelan Beirne (Strokestown) for McGrath (18)
24. Aonghus Lyons (Fuerty) for Kelly (46)
22. Ronan Raftery (Castlerea St Kevin’s) for Callinan (52)
20. Kevin Smith (St Croan’s) for Darcy (55)


1. Tadhg O’Malley (Lettermore)

2. Luke Burke (Caltra)
3. Oisin Canney (Clonbur)
4. Ruairi Greene (Killanin)

5. Kieran Molloy (Corofin)
6. Enda Tierney (Oughterard)
7. Brian Shaughnessy (Ballinasloe)

8. Michael Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough)
9. Peter Cooke (Moycullen)

10. Jason Lyons (Barna)
11. Eamonn Brannigan (St Michael’s)
12. Paul Mannion (Kilconly)

13. Antaine Ó Laoi (An Spideal)
14. Eoin Finnerty (Mountbellew/Moylough)
15. Colm Mannion (Mountbellew/Moylough).


20. Cormac McWalter (Tuam Stars) for Lyons (22)
19. Joseph Donnellan (Cortoon Shamrocks) for Finnerty (36)
22. Colm O Braonain (Oileainn Arainn) for Shaughnessy (36)
24. Sean Andy Kelly (Lettermore) for Canney (36)
17. Matthew Reddington (Dunmore McHales) for O Laoi (38)
18. Kevin Nally (Caherlistrane) for O Braonain (48)

Referee: J Henry (Mayo)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Here are the Cork and Monaghan teams for Sunday’s National Football League clash

‘Gooch’ in from the start for Kerry as Fitzmaurice makes 3 changes for Mayo visit

About the author:

John Fallon

Read next: