This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 26 January, 2020

Gavin and his 5-in-a-row Dubs scoop RTÉ Manager and Team of the Year awards

The former manager and his history-making charges took individual and team honours at a ceremony on Saturday night.

Jim Gavin salutes the crowd at Dublin's homecoming in September.
Jim Gavin salutes the crowd at Dublin's homecoming in September.
Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

JIM GAVIN HAS been crowned RTÉ Sport Manager of the Year for 2019, with his five-in-a-row-winning Dublin side capping a historic year by being proclaimed Team of the Year at Saturday night’s ceremony.

Gavin, who stepped down from his post as Dublin boss just over a fortnight ago, steered his charges to a record-breaking fifth consecutive All-Ireland Senior football title following two memorable encounters with Kerry in September.

It was Gavin’s sixth time lifting the Sam Maguire as a manager. Under his tutelage, the Dubs lost just one championship encounter between 2013 and 2019.

The 2019 team became the first in the history of the sport to win a fifth All-Ireland on the spin, with goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton being named the 2019 PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year as voted by his fellow inter-county players in September.

The RTÉ Sport awards were decided upon by a 12-person judging panel selected by the State broadcaster, and not a public vote as had been the case during recent years.

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel