# Winner alright
Tony McCoy named RTÉ Sportsperson of the Year
There was also success for Davy Fitzgerald and the Clare hurlers.

AP MCCOY HAS been named the RTÉ Sportsperson of the year this evening.

The legendary jockey rode the 4,000th winner of his career on November 7 this year when he piloted Mountain Tunes to victory in Towcester.

“It’s great, it’s a fantastic honour,” said McCoy after it was announced before going on to tell Darragh Maloney and the assembled audience he will aim to pass 5,000 winners before his career comes to an end.

McCoy beat the likes of athletics world champion Rob Heffernan, cycling world scratch champion Martyn Irvine and European gold medalist sailor Annalise Murphy to the award.

Team of the Year went to the Clare hurlers who won the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship after two enthralling finals with Cork. It was the Banner’s first senior title since 1997.

It was double success for Clare as manager Davy Fitzgerald also won Sports Manager of the Year after leading the county to All-Ireland hurling success. Fitzgerald took over as Clare boss in 2011 and has been credited with bringing in fresh faces to the the panel, many of whom played a pivotal role in both finals.

Earlier in the evening former Ireland defender Paul McGrath was voted into the Sports Awards Hall of Fame. McGrath made 83 appearances for Ireland, playing in two World Cups despite a career plagued by persistent injury.

Munster leave it late to overcome 13-man Scarlets

Deja vu as Reve De Sivola wins Long Walk Hurdle for second year running

Your Voice
Readers Comments