This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Friday 17 January, 2020

Cork minors hit 2nd half stride to see off Limerick by 10 points

Shane Kingston scored 1 – 9 as the young Rebels came from behind at half time to win.

File photo: Shane Kingston celebrates his goal against Limerick in last year's minor semi-final.
File photo: Shane Kingston celebrates his goal against Limerick in last year's minor semi-final.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Cork 2-20
Limerick 1-13

CORK TURNED A three-point half-time deficit into a 10-point winning margin to advance past the challenge of Limerick in the Electric Ireland Munster MHC at Páirc Uí Rinn this evening.

Having been second-best for most of the opening half, a goal shortly before the interval from Tim O’Mahony was key in keeping Cork in it but upon the turnaround they were by far the better side.

Where they had seven wides in the first half, they only recorded three more, with captain Shane Kingston leading by example, finishing with 1-9 to his name. Cork scored the first five points upon the resumption, three from Kingston allied to one each from Ciarán Cormack and Tim O’Mahony.

That put them into a lead which they wouldn’t relinquish and Kingston’s goal on the three-quarter mark opened up a five-point lead, 2-12 to 1-10. Sub John Looney got in on the act after his introduction while Michael O’Halloran, O’Mahony and goalkeeper Declan Dalton, with a long-range free, all added points.

Limerick, so full of life in the first half, had no answer and they will wonder just how they managed to lose what was a seven-point lead, 1-9 to 0-5, following Séamus Flanagan’s 28th-minute free,

Flanagan and Barry Murphy had been very impressive in the first half, Flanagan goaling in the 11th minute, but once Cork got to grips with things they were the superior team. The Shannonsiders now face Waterford on 6 May, with a re-match against Cork the prize if they win that.

Scorers for Cork: Shane Kingston 1-9 (0-5 frees), Tim O’Mahony 1-3, Michael O’Halloran, John Looney, Declan Dalton (0-1 free, 0-1 65) 0-2 each, Billy Dunne, Ciarán Cormack 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Séamus Flanagan 1-4 (0-4 frees), Barry Murphy 0-5, Peter Casey 0-2, Willie O’Meara 0-1.


1. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)

2. Seadnaidh Smyth (Midleton)
3. David Griffin (Carrigaline)
4. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)

5. Mark Coleman (Blarney)
6. Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields)
7. David Lowney (Clonakilty)

8. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

10. Tim O’Mahony (Shandrum)
11. Robbie O’Flynn (Erin’s Own)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Billy Dunne (Fr O’Neills)
14. Ciarán Cormack (Blackrock)
15. Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock)

22. Danny Gunning (Na Piarsaigh) for O’Flynn (half-time)
23. John Looney (Aghada) for Dunne (43)


1. Eoghan McNamara (Doon)

3. Micheál Bourke (Garryspillane)
4. Conor McSweeney (South Liberties)
2. Jack O’Grady (Knockainey)

8. Colum Carroll (Ahane)
6. Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock)
5. Conor Byrnes (Murroe-Boher)

9. Thomas Hayes (Doon)
11. Ciarán O’Connor (Kilmallock)

10. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
7. Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh)

13. Barry Murphy (Doon)
14. Séamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon)
12. Darragh Carroll (Kilteely-Dromkeen)

17. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh) for Colum Carroll (35)
19. Willie O’Meara (Askeaton) for Thomas Hayes (43)
18. David Hannon (Pallasgreen) for Darragh Carroll (53)
21. Paudie Ahern (Kileedy) for Kyle Hayes (57)
20. Cian Magner-Flynn (Kileedy) for O’Connor (59)

Referee: Rory McGann (Clare)

‘I don’t think selfie sticks have made it down to Galway GAA just yet’

6 key players for Cork and Tipperary’s Munster U21 football final battle

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: