Lynne Cameron/PA Wire/Press Association Images
New guys

Six new boys as Scotland name Six Nations squad

‘Potential counts for nothing if you don’t deliver results,’ says head coach, Andy Robinson.

SCOTLAND HEAD COACH Andy Robinson has revealed a 26-name squad for the upcoming Six Nations campaign.

Chris Paterson and Nathan Hines have retired since last year’s Rugby World Cup but Robinson has included the other 28 players from the 30-man squad that travelled to New Zeland, including Ulster’s Simon Danielli.

The coach also includes six uncapped players for the Scots’ tournament opener against England at Murrayfield on 4 February.

The new faces are Edinburgh wing, Lee Jones; Stuart Hogg; Glasgow Warriors pair Duncan Weitr and Robert Hartley; Sale’s Fraser McKenzie and London Irish centre Steven Shingler.

“I am pleased to reflect on the winning displays we have seen from both Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors over the last two months and the contribution a number of our uncapped players have made to them,” said the head coach, Robinson.

“I think what’s also encouraging is that a number of players who have forced their way into contention in that period and who have not made the squad this time, are really knocking on the door and that competition for places can only raise our standards, so this Scotland squad can be very much a work in progress over the coming months.

“We said after the Rugby World Cup that the challenge the Scotland squad must confront is to get on with the business of winning international rugby matches.  Potential counts for nothing if you don’t deliver results.”

Here’s the full squad:

Scotland squad:

Backs: Joe Ansbro (London Irish), Mike Blair (Edinburgh Rugby), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh Rugby), Max Evans (Castres), Stuart Hogg, Ruaridh Jackson (both Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones, Greig Laidlaw (both Edinburgh Rugby), Rory Lamont (Glasgow Warriors), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), Steven Shingler (London Irish) and Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors)

Forwards: John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross, David Denton (both Edinburgh Rugby), Alasdair Dickinson (Sale Sharks), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Gray, Dougie Hall (both Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), Robert Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Fraser McKenzie (Sale Sharks), Euan Murray (Newcastle Falcons), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh Rugby), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester) and Richie Vernon (Sale Sharks).

McIlroy plays it safe on Olympic allegiances

Race row: Suarez apologises for Evra comment