Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 8°C
INPHO/Donal Treacy Action from today's Hogan Cup final in Croke Park.
# Champions
St Pat's Maghera and Cnoc Mhuire Granard claim All-Ireland schools titles
Croke Park hosted today’s two Gaelic football deciders while there was also Leinster minor football championship action.

All-Ireland Colleges SAFC final

St Pat’s (Maghera) 1-20
St Pat’s (Navan) 1-10

St Pat’s (Maghera) collected their fifth Hogan Cup title with a convincing victory in this afternoon’s final in Croke Park.

The Derry school claimed silverware for the first time since 2003 with a hugely impressive performance against St Pat’s (Navan).

The winners had some terrific displays with attackers Danny Tallon, Gerard Bradley, Stephen O’Hara and Niall McNicholl all in magnificent form.

St Pat’s (Maghera) lead by 0-10 to 0-5 at the interval with McNicholl, midfielder James Kearney and O’Hara notching quality points.

But St Pat’s (Navan) got a major second-half boost when Robert Keeleghan got in to finish neatly to the bottom corner of the net.

They were still in touching the third quarter when Niall Lyons flighted over a point to leave them trailing by 0-14 to 1-8.

However St Pat’s (Maghera) then put the game to bed with man-of-the-match Danny Tallon finishing confidently to the net and they powered on from there to claim the spoils.

Scorers for St Pat’s Maghera: Danny Tallon 1-2, Gerard Bradley 0-5 (0-2f), Stephen O’Hara 0-4, Niall McNicholl 0-3, James Kearney 0-2, Conor Glass, Cathal Mulholland, Niall Toner, Conor Convery 0-1 each.
Scorers for St Pat’s Navan: Robert Keeleghan 1-1, Ruairi O Coileain 0-3 (0-1f), Robert McDonnell (0-2f), Niall Lyons (0-1f), James McEntee (0-1f) 0-2 each.


Cnoc Mhuire celebrate victory
Pic: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

All-Ireland Vocational SAFC final

Cnoc Mhuire (Granard) 2-13
Holy Trinity College (Cookstown) 2-12

Longford’s Cnoc Mhuire (Granard) were crowned All-Ireland Vocational champions with a narrow success over Tyrone’s Holy Trinity College in today’s curtain-raiser in Croke Park.

The winners lead by 2-7 to 1-4 at the break with Rian Brady, David McGivney and Nigel Rabbitte excelling up front.

Holy Trinity College had got off to a dream start with Ryan Loughran firing home an early goal but Cnoc Mhuire hit back with Aidan McElligott and Rabbitte both raising green flags.

Cnoc Mhuire suffered the setback of seeing midfielder Aidan McElligott sent-off for a second yellow card after the break while Holy Trinity substitute Damian Woods fired home a goal.

But the reigning champions from Tyrone, managed by Red Hands attacking legend Peter Canavan, could not draw level as Cnoc Mhuire held on in a dramatic finale.


Leinster MFC

Dublin claimed a 1-9 to 1-7 extra-time win in their opening round clash against Louth this afternoon in Drogheda.

Elsewhere Westmeath defeated Wexford by 1-10 to 0-10 in Cusack Park in Mullingar while Wicklow were 2-14 to 2-10 victors over Carlow in Aughrim.

5 key questions for Cork and Clare relegation decider

Brogan returns to Dublin side for league semi-final