This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 17 October, 2019

Suns' game-winning alley-oop was legal because of a little-known NBA rule that coach had kept secret for 15 years

This is satisfying.


THE PHOENIX SUNS beat the Memphis Grizzlies on Tuesday night with one of the crazier game-winning shots you will ever see and it was perfectly legal.

The play came with the score tied, 97-97, and the Suns were tasked with inbounding the ball from the side. In what turned out to be a prescient call, the announcer said, “don’t discount the lob to Tyson Chandler,” who was left in a one-on-one situation under the basket.

Except the Suns did more than just “lob” the ball to Chandler. Dragen Bender inbounded the ball as if he were trying to make a shot. Just as the ball reached the rim, Chandler redirected the “shot” into the basket for the win.

Let’s ignore for now the push-off by Chandler. That probably could have been called a foul, but at the same time, pushing and shoving are normal under the basket in general, and usually ignored on inbounds plays.

The more clear-cut violation, or at least many thought, was Chandler committing basket interference (i.e. the offense’s version of goaltending) by touching the ball while it was above the rim. It turns out there was nothing illegal about this play and coach Jay Triano had been sitting on a little-known rule for 15 years just waiting to use it.

“It’s a rule that a lot of people don’t know,” Triano said after the game. “You can’t goaltend a ball that isn’t going to count. So I tell our guys to shoot the ball in the basket and all Tyson has to do is touch it on the way down. Or grab the rim and have it hit your knuckle and go in.”

In other words, a play can only be goaltending or basket interference on a legal shot and a pass from out of bounds is not a legal shot.

The play is specifically addressed in the NBA’s case book (via ESPN).

snapshot20171227080444 Source: espn

Triano also explained that it is a rule he has known about for a long time and he had been sitting on this play since his days as an assistant coach with the Toronto Raptors 15 years ago.

“I asked the officials when they come and do their clinics and seminars with the coaches, I asked them that 15 years ago back when I was in Toronto,” Triano said. “They had to go back [to the rule book] and look at it and come back. And I have tried to keep it a secret. It’s not a secret anymore.”

The cat is out of the bag now. Here’s the play:

Source: Bleacher Report/YouTube

‘I had been kind of having dangerous and negative thoughts and realised I needed to talk to someone’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Published with permission from:

Business Insider
Business Insider is a business site with strong financial, media and tech focus.

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel