Dublin: 13°C Sunday 1 August 2021

Thomas McDonagh's qualify for Tipperary football decider

Inter-county attacker Philip Austin hit the crucial goal as the divisional side reached next Sunday’s county final in the Premier county.

Tipperary county player Philip Austin grabbed the goal for Thomas McDonagh's yesterday.
Tipperary county player Philip Austin grabbed the goal for Thomas McDonagh's yesterday.
Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

REIGNING CHAMPIONS THOMAS McDonagh’s booked their spot in next weekend’s Tipperary county senior football final with a 1-5 to 0-6 win over Killenaule in yesterday’s semi-final clash in Templemore.

Thomas McDonagh’s, a divisional outfit from North Tipperary, contested their first ever decider last year when they got the better of Moyle Rovers.

They will now face Clonmel Commercials in this year’s final next Sunday afternoon in Semple Stadium after prevailing by two points yesterday.

Thomas McDonagh’s lead by three points at the interval, 1-4 to 0-4, against a Killenaule team who had been crowned South Tipperary divisonal champions this year. The crucial score arrived courtesy of inter-county attacker Philip Austin when he found the net for Thomas McDonagh’s from the penalty spot.

Killenaule suffered a setback in the second-half when John O’Dwyer, the leading attacker for the Tipperary U21 hurlers this year, was sent-off. Despite the best efforts of their inter-county duo Matthew O’Donnell and Paddy Codd, Killenaule were unable to overhaul their opponents.

Thomas McDonagh’s, with Tipperary player George Hannigan in excellent form, grabbed the insurance score courtesy of Tommy Connors when he added a late point. The divisional outfit also had 2010 All-Ireland senior hurling winners David Young and Seamus Hennessy in their ranks.

They will meet Clonmel Commercials after they got the better of Loughmore-Castleiney in the first semi-final on Sunday afternoon. Last year’s Tipperary All-Ireland minor winners Michael Quinlivan and Ian Fahey raised green flags to help Clonmel Commercials triumph by 4-11 to 4-9.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

It took extra-time to settle the issue after Liam McGrath, captain of that triumphant minor side last September, smashed home two goals at the end of normal-time to tie the match. Clonmel Commercials will feature in a final for the first time since 2002 when they defeated Aherlow.

Ballymun Kickhams triumph in Dublin final

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: