This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 4 °C Sunday 15 December, 2019

3 new faces in Tipperary team as Cork unchanged for Munster minor hurling semi-final

A place in the Munster final on 9 July is at stake.

TIPPERARY HAVE BROUGHT in three new faces for tomorrow evening’s Electric Ireland Munster minor hurling semi-final in Semple Stadium, while Cork are unchanged from their comprehensive opening win over Waterford.

pjimage (2) Tipperary manager Liam Cahill and Cork boss Denis Ring. Source: INPHO

Tipperary boss Liam Cahill has drafted centre-back Robbie Quirke, wing-forward Ray McCormack and corner-forward Cathal Bourke into his starting team.

Joe Gunne, Anderw Ormond and Darragh Woods are the players to make way from Tipperary’s victory in a thrilling clash with Limerick in April that produced six goals.

Paddy Cadell Tipperary minor hurling captain Paddy Cadell Source: James Crombie/INPHO

In May in Páirc Uí Rinn, Cork overcame Waterford by 1-24 to 0-8 and their team is unchanged from that game.

Brian Turnbull was the top scorer in that game with 0-10 while there are three members of the team were part of the St Colman’s team that reached the Dr Harty Cup final in February.

Twins Eoin and Brian Roche start at corner-back and wing-forward respectively, while Diarmuid Lenihan is named at midfield.

Eoin Roche with David O'Shea Eoin Roche (right) in action in the Dr Harty Cup final Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

It’s the second successive year that these counties have faced off at this stage of the Munster minor hurling championship with Tipperary winning out by 0-23 to 1-15 last June in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Four Tipperary players featured during that game in Jerome Cahill, Kieran Breen, captain Paddy Cadell and Jake Morris, while there are Cork survivors in Ger Collins, Sean O’Leary-Hayes, Ross Howell, Evan Sheehan and Turnbull.

Throw-in tomorrow night is 7.30pm.


1. Eoin Collins (Drom-Inch)

2. Michael Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields)
3. Michael Feehan (Sean Treacys)
4. Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

5. Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
6. Robbie Quirke (Cappawhite)
7. Kieran Breen (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)

8. Bryan O’Mara (Holycross-Ballycahill)
9. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens – captain)

10. Conor Bowe (Moyne-Templetouhy)
11. Jake Morris (Nenagh Eire Óg)
12. Ray McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

13. Cathal Bourke (Clonoulty-Rossmore)
14. Anthony McKelvey (Moycarkey-Borris)
15. Conor McCarthy (Nenagh Eire Óg)


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe)
3. Sean O’Leary-Hayes (Midleton – captain)
4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)

5. Ross Howell (Douglas)
6. James Keating (Kildorrery)
7. Ger Millerick (Fr. O’Neill’s)

8. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Diarmuid Lenihan (Ballyhooly)

10. Craig Hanafin (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Liam O’Shea (Lisgoold)
12. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)

13. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
15. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)


16. Ian Butler (Kildorrery)
17. Jack O Callaghan (Charleville)
18. Ronan Sheehan (Mallow)
19. Aaron Walsh Barry (Carrigtwohill)
20. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons)
21. Brian Buckley (Dromina)
22. David Jones (Dromina)
23. Declan Hanlon (Blarney)
24. Colin O Brien (Liscarroll-Churchtown Gaels)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Tipperary’s ‘silent assassin’ Quinlivan ruled out of qualifier trip to Cavan

‘There probably was a bit of destiny there’: Jack O’Connor more than happy to follow a well-worn path

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: