Dublin: 14°C Tuesday 28 June 2022

All-Ireland underage winners named in Tipp intermediate and junior teams

Andrew Ryan, Brian Stapleton and Tommy Heffernan boost Tipp’s intermediate ranks.

Tipperary's Brian Stapleton and Conor Lehane of Cork.
Tipperary's Brian Stapleton and Conor Lehane of Cork.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

TIPPERARY HAVE INCLUDED All-Ireland underage winners in the county’s intermediate hurling and junior football sides that are in Munster championship action this weekend.

Tipperary face Limerick on Sunday in the Munster IHC semi-final in Semple Stadium at 2pm and take on Limerick tomorrow in the Munster JFC quarter-final in the Gaelic Grounds at 5pm.

Goalkeeper James Logue and midfielder Joe Gallagher on the intermediate hurling team both won All-Ireland U21 medals in 2010 on a star-studded side that defeated Galway.

Andrew Ryan, Brian Stapleton and Tommy Heffernan all featured for the Tipperary U21 side that lost last August’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster final to Clare.

The junior football side contains Evan Comerford and Conor O’Sullivan, who both started on the minor team that claimed a shock victory over Dublin in the 2011 All-Ireland final.

TIPPERARY (IH v Limerick)

1. James Logue – Ballingarry

2. Pat Ryan – Clonakenny

3. Andrew Ryan – Toomevara

4. Daire Quinn – Nenagh Eire Og

5. Aiden McGrath – Loughmore Castleiney

6. Ronan Sherlock – Silvermines

7. Brian Stapleton – Templederry Kenyons

8. Denis Stapleton – Sean Treacys

9. Joe Gallagher – Kildangan

10. Tommy Heffernan – Nenagh Eire Og

11. Michael Sheedy – Portroe

12. Thomas Cleary – Kilruane McDonaghs

13. Tony O’Brien – St Patrick’s

14. John Sheedy – Portroe

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

15. David Collins – Drom & Inch

TIPPERARY (JF v Limerick)

1. Evan Comerford – Kilsheelan Kilcash

2. Pearse Richardson – Arravale Rovers

3. James Feehan – Killenaule

4. Conor O’Sullivan – Galtee Rovers

5. Laurence Coskeran – Aherlow

6. John Hennessy – Aherlow

7. Thomas Hassett – Moyne Templetuohy

8. Alan Rockett – Kilsheelan Kilcash

9. Ross McGrath – Monaleen, Limerick

10. Cathal Scully – JK Brackens

11. Thomas Hanley – Aherlow

12. Dean McEnroe – JK Brackens

13. Sean Flynn – Fr Sheehys

14. Sean Patrick Geurins – JK Brackens

15. David McGrath – Moyle Rovers

5 debutants for Limerick while Tipperary call up O’Riordan and Mulhair for Munster SFC tie

Podge Collins available for Clare footballers, while Eoin Cadogan returns for Cork hurlers

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: