up the banner

Allstars Kelly and Galvin to lead Clare U21 team but Shane O'Donnell is out injured

Clare take on Limerick tomorrow night in the Gaelic Grounds at 7.30pm.

Colm Galvin, Aaron Cunninghamm Alan O'Neill and Tony Kelly celebrate Colm Galvin (left) and Tony Kelly (right) will be key men for Clare tomorrow night. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

ALLSTARS TONY KELLY and Colm Galvin will spearhead the Clare U21 hurling team that begins their bid for a third successive Bord Gáis Energy Munster and All-Ireland U21 crowns tomorrow night.

But there is no place for All-Ireland senior final goal hero Shane O’Donnell as he is ruled out through injury while Cathal O’Connell and Alan O’Neill are all sidelined with injury problems.

Clare travel to take on Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds in their Munster quarter-final tie at 7pm. Kelly, Galvin, defensive duo Jack Browne and Seadna Morey, and wing-forward Peter Duggan also started in last year’s All-Ireland U21 final success against Antrim.

O’Donnell, O’Connell and O’Neill all started in that game as well while corner-back Jarlath Colleran and corner-forward Aaron Cunningham both came on as substitutes. Attackers David Reidy and Bobby Duggan have both featured during the league this year for Davy Fitzgerald’s Clare senior side.

Ten of the Clare minor team that won the 2011 Munster final are named here with Keith Hogan, Conor Cleary, Shane Gleeson, Reidy and Duggan the new inclusions.

The Clare team celebrate The Clare minor team celebrate their 2011 Munster final win over Waterford. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

1. Keith Hogan (Clooney-Quin)
2. Jarlath Colleran (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
3. Jack Browne (Ballyea)
4. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
5. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)
6. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley)
7. Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea)
8. Eoin Enright (Kilmaley)
9. Colm Galvin (Cratloe)
10. Shane Gleeson (Cratloe)
11. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)
12. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
13. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones)
14. David Reidy (Eire Og)
15. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)

16. Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle)
17. Shane McGrath (Feakle)
18. Shane O’Brien (Clonlara)
19. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)
20. David Conroy (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
21. Brian Carey (Sixmilebridge)
22. Shane Taylor (Broadford)
23. Stephen Ward (Clarecastle)
24. Niall O’Connor (Newmarket)

Senior star Dowling to captain Limerick U21 team that includes 3 Munster minor winners

John Gardiner: Limerick’s siege mentality, pressure on Tipp and Laois close to shock