James Crombie/INPHO via file pic Treble: UCC's Alan Cadogan.
# fitzy
UCC cruise to victory over Ulster University as Cadogan hits treble
The away side were ultimately outclassed at the Mardyke.

UCC 5-13
Ulster University 2-4

Denis Hurley reports from the Mardyke

WHILE IT WASN’T the romp that the pre-match odds of 1/100 might have suggested, UCC were still comfortable winners in this Fitzgibbon Cup clash at the Mardyke on Tuesday afternoon.

Visitors Ulster University did have the first score with a Nicky McKeague free, but by the time the same player got their second, UCC had 1-5 on the board and a 3-6 to 1-3 half-time lead was never likely to be shaken.

Three frees in a row by Rob O’Shea got UCC going after a slow start and Alan Cadogan’s 14th-minute goal – sandwiched by two fine Gavin O’Brien points – gave them a large cushion.

When James O’Flynn got a second goal shortly before half-time, firing home after Michael Breen was unlucky to be dispossessed, it was 2-5 to 0-3 for the hosts but Ulster University gave themselves some hope as Kevin Rice’s point attempt came back off the crossbar and fell for the in-rushing McKeague, who sent the ball to the net as he slid in.

UCC eased any nerves immediately, though, as O’Flynn won a delivery and laid off for O’Shea to get a third goal. O’Flynn’s point, from a shot tipped over by Simon Doherty, left nine points in it at half-time.

In the first minute of the second half, Ulster University had a second goal as Liam Dunphy’s free from deep was dropped by UCC goalkeeper Dylan Desmond, with referee Gavin Quilty awarding it after consulting with his umpires.

The away side would only score one more point, though, as UCC edged further and further clear as the second half wore on. Two goals in a minute from Cadogan put some gloss on the scoreline, while Rickard Cahalane and sub Anthony Spillane also got among the scores.

Scorers for UCC: Alan Cadogan 3-1, Rob O’Shea 1-7 (0-6 frees), James O’Flynn 1-1, Gavin O’Brien 0-2, Rickard Cahalane, Anthony Spillane 0-1.

Scorers for Ulster University: Nicky McKeague 1-2 (0-2 frees), Liam Dunphy 1-0 (free), James Connolly, Kevin Rice 0-1 each.


(Cork clubs unless stated)

1. Dylan Desmond (Éire Óg)

2. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner, Waterford)
3. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
4. Shane Roche (Shamrocks, Waterford)

28. Séamus Kennedy (St Mary’s, Tipperary)
6. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater, Waterford)
9. Rickard Cahalane (Ballymartle)

5. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers)
8. Michael Breen (Ballina, Tipperary)

10. John Power (Carrickshock, Kilkenny)
11. Tom Devine (Modeligo, Waterford)
12. Gavin O’Brien (Roanmore, Waterford)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. James O’Flynn (Erin’s Own)
15. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)


19. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons) for Power (50)
21. Mark O’Connor (Douglas) for Cahalane (54)
20. Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock) for Cadogan (54)
24. Niall Motherway (Dungourney) for O’Shea (58)
17. Eddie Gunning (Na Piarsaigh) for Kenny (58)

ULSTER UNIVERSITY (Antrim clubs unless stated)

16. Simon Doherty (St John’s)

2. Aidan Orchin (O’Donovan Rossa)
11. Gerard Walsh (O’Donovan Rossa)
6. Tomás Ó Ciarán (St Gall’s)

5. Rian Brannigan (Clonduff, Down)
8. Jackson McGreevey (St Gall’s)
7. Donal O’Hara (Cushendun)

9. James McNaughton (Loughgiel Shamrocks)
10. Michael Dudley (St John’s)

19. Liam Dunphy (Lisdowney, Kilkenny)
22. Kevin Rice (Kickhams Creggan)
15. Johnny O’Dywer (Banagher, Derry)

18. Ali Dooley (Dunloy)
14. Nicky McKeague (Dunloy)
17. James Connolly (O’Donovan Rossa)


13. James O’Connell (Clooney Gaels) for O’Dywer (46)
12. Darragh McGuinness (Sarsfields) for Dunphy (49)
3. Tommy Burns (Armoy) for Orchin (51)
24. Paddy Butler (Carey) for McKeague (58)
4. Ryan Gillen (St Enda’s) for McNaughton (58)

Tipp’s McGrath and Waterford’s Bennett hit the net as UL see off CIT in Fitzgibbon opener

Check out the 42 GAA games that TG4 will show between now and the championship

Your Voice
Readers Comments